1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Zpoxy for pore fill and grain enhancement

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by Freeman Keller, Mar 31, 2019.

1. Freeman Keller

Freeman Keller Poster Extraordinaire

There seems to be several concurrent threads right now about pore filling and I seem to be the spokesman for a finishing resin called Zpoxy. I find myself repeating the same thing over and over, posting the same pictures and links. I thought it would be more efficient to just post one thread about this product and then I can point to it whenever the subject comes up.

Disclaimer: I am not a finishing expert or "professional" or anything like that. In fact I am about as amateur as you can get. That might have some advantage for you folks who are finishing your first or second guitar and considering which products and methods you might want to use. I will certainly say that a professional who makes her living finishing lots and lots of guitars probably won't use this method.

Second, there are lots and lots and lots of pore filling products on the market, and even more home brew methods. I've only tried a couple of them (which I'll talk about) but I'm not prepared to argue the merits of one over another. I'll try to show some photos of what works for me - if you have something your really like how about doing your own thread and showing your pictures.

Third, of course, your milage and results may vary. In fact, they will probably vary a lot. Practice on scrap.

Forth, always practice any finishing technique or product on scrap of the same wood that you will be finishing. Keep all the cutoffs from building your guitar for this purpose. Don't have any scrap? Get some.