Your Thoughts On Why Old Teles Work So Well....

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by Strat God, Nov 29, 2009.

1. Strat God

Strat God Tele-Meister

I've been a Custom Shop guy for some years and only recently got into older teles. I had a '73 which was significantly 'better' than any of the newer ones I've owned and now I've had the '67 for 3 weeks and I am amazed at it's tone and feel.

But I pose the question-WHY? Same design, same wood and (basically) same electronics as the new ones - so how can they be so different? Dryer wood? Oxidized electronics? I can't find any significant reason why their tone and playability can differ so much from the best Fender has to offer today.

I have a degree in piano restoration and owned a piano store for years -I have rebuilt old Steinways, Mason & Hamlins, Baldwins, etc.- the new pianos are clearly superior to the old ones- better glues, woods and moving parts - so why doesn't that logic pertain to vintage guitars?

Yes, I know it's an age-old question, but I would really like to hear thoughts from the experts here on TDPRI.

2. Bill

Bill Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

There are exactly as many theories as there are players.

I have compared a 52 and a 52 reissue as well as a 56 Strat against a 57 Strat reissue. I heard a lot more richness and complexity in the original.

3. jjkrause84

jjkrause84 Poster Extraordinaire

Might it be that by buying vintage you're (likely) buying the best of what was around then (the lesser pieces having ceased to exist) combiend with the fact that, perhaps, guitars "age well"?

I have no idea, myself.

4. fezz parka

fezz parka ---------------------------

A good guitar is a good guitar. The best sounding guitar I've ever played is my pine Tele. :D

5. PJ55

PJ55 Poster Extraordinaire