Your favorite Blues Jr Mods? (CS Two Tone score)

Nathan

Tele-Meister
Hey all,

Let me start by saying that I am fully aware of all the Blues Jr mods out there (I owned one in the past and did many of the BillM mods).

I just scored a 2001 Two Tone (ie. Blues Jr in the 1x12+1x10 pine cabinet) in the next town so I didn't get to try it yet but the price was too good to pass up and I've had my eye out for one since they came out. My bro in law picked it up for me and will hand it off next time we see each other.

What were your experiences (with this amp in particular) or with modding your Blues Jr? I know this larger cabinet allegedly helps the inherent boxiness of the 1x12 a lot.

To start I'm thinking: speaker swap, long reverb tank, Hammond 1760H xformer to get the 4/8/16 ohm taps.

FWIW I am 100% willing and able to gut it and build something cooler in the same chassis...
Although I'm not an expert, you might call me an advanced beginner? I have a slew of parts from other projects and have built 6 tube amps.

P.S. No need for ''polish a turd'' comments - I have a stable of different amps and I'm specifically looking for a fun project. I just want a circuit that sounds a awesome as this thing looks!

TwoToneFront.jpg

saltyseadog

Tele-Holic
Do you know what the present output transformer output is. Reason I ask is that the BJr' is an 8ohm amp and with a 10" and 12" installed either they are running seperate jacks or they are running together at either 4ohm or 16ohm and if they are coupled it might be that the amp is damaged. The Hammond OT with the 4/8/16 connections for the BJr' is the 1760F well that is what I bought when I converted mine to a 3 speaker 4ohm set up.

Tim S

Tele-Afflicted
Gold Supporter
Congrats on the find!

If this amp has any collector value, then maybe you shouldn’t be modding it. I’m sure there are people out there who would appreciate an unmolested version. Maybe you should plug into it and try it before you start your mod list for it?