Young people dropping out - after college

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Big_Bend, Sep 6, 2021.

1. Big_Bend

Big_Bend Poster Extraordinaire

Unfortunately I know more than a few young adults who have recently graduated with nice college degrees, often with big college debt, and then they just -stall-. No career job, no internship, no graduate school, no more training.. they just go back to mom and dads, or some other menial existence where they are not living up to their potential.

I'm sure the recent dramas in the world have had an effect on these poor kids.. there seems to be alot of anxiety. I'm also not sure the best way to help or encourage these lost souls.

It seemed like it was easy when I graduated college like 30 years ago.. I know it has got to be a lot tougher and competitive now.. but still, these kids gota try, and keep trying... I hope.

Any similar experiences on your side? suggestions that worked?

Cheers

2. Frodebro

Frodebro Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

We've got some younger (under 40) people where I work, and there just seems to be a completely different vibe to them compared to the older folks. Different attitude, different work ethic, different expectations. I hate to say it, but there is noticeable entitlement in some of them, and that won't get you anywhere. Hard work and perseverance is where success comes from, not waiting around impatiently for it to be handed to you.

1955, Speedfish, Jerry J and 21 others like this.
  3. twangking

twangking Tele-Afflicted

This is exactly what was said of the boomers by their parents. Funny how these things become cyclical.

middy, kylejf90, stevemc and 38 others like this.
  4. Vibroluxer

Vibroluxer Tele-Meister