Yep, another “which one” question

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by lineboat, Apr 13, 2019.

1. lineboat

lineboat Friend of Leo's

I really like all my amps. They have their place and purpose. Definitely don’t NEED another one, but I’m kinda wanting either a Pro Jr or Blues Jr. I have limited experience with both, but have played the older models of each one a little bit. This will mainly be used for living room noodling, and playing with friends occasionally. It won’t have to get super loud, no drummer at all. There were a dozen or more of us last night playing around, two electrics and the rest acoustic. I’ve been using an AC10 a lot, and love it. I honestly think that amp is way out of the class of either of the Jrs, but I’m still gonna wanting one! So....
    What’re y’alls suggestions?

Bruxist likes this.
  2. ScottJPatrick

ScottJPatrick Friend of Leo's

I know it's not on your list but the Super Champ X2 is probably the best for noodling around on, plenty loud enough for what you need too. I prefer the sound of the Pro Jr over the Blues Jr but unless you can wind it up a bit you're not going to get a lot of variation with it.

3. lineboat

lineboat Friend of Leo's

I had forgotten about the X2. I had a little SC a couple years ago. Maybe it was the XD? I can’t remember. It sounded pretty good. Yeah, I’ll add it to the list too!

4. Festus_Hagen

Festus_Hagen Tele-Holic

I hate to say it , but the MonoPrice 15 watter is a really good buy, has a 1 watt switch, gain, master, and lots of tone control. I also have a Blues Jr, and I would take the MP over the BJ for the price difference,

That said, I've been loving my Princeton reverb lately, but you don't have a master, gain, etc with it.

Good luck! Hope you find what ya want!

lineboat likes this.
  5. VintageSG

VintageSG Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member