YBA-1 finally

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by ce24, Jun 10, 2021 at 11:23 AM.

  1. ce24

    ce24 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,883
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Idahoastan
    So the CL deal fell thru….all things happen for the best….
    73 unmolested other than serviced. For less hassle and less money. 621FA599-617E-40F1-9BB1-EA2E7EB2F102.png
     
    black_doug, Wally, drlucky and 3 others like this.
  2. ReverendRevolver

    ReverendRevolver Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,037
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Location:
    Ohio (Nerk)
    So......


    Have you fired it up?

    Those are perpetually on my "buy if I find a good price " list. Basically, the whole list is heads around 50w, but those are near the top.
     
  3. ce24

    ce24 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,883
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Idahoastan
    I'll report when it arrives... It will be shipped tomorrow.
     
  4. NTC

    NTC Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    73 - no choke, probably no cathode follower. I re did mine as more of a 5F6A with a big resistor to simulate a 5AR4. Very sweet sounding amp. Easy to work on with the flip top.
     
    ce24 likes this.
  5. NTC

    NTC Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Note the cap can mounting. This amp originally had 'dynamite' style caps with lead wires mounted in a similar fashion.
     
    ce24 likes this.
  6. ce24

    ce24 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,883
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Idahoastan
    Yeah i liked that….also look at those bumble bee caps..huge.
     
  7. ce24

    ce24 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,883
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Idahoastan
    So it appears i should replace those bumblebee caps and the two blue bias caps. Would you have any recommendations? thanks.
     
  8. ce24

    ce24 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,883
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Idahoastan
    Wally and you other gurus what would you recommend for replacing the bumblebee caps…are they.?(nonpolarized)??? And the two Blue caps (polarized). I think thats it for electrolytics to be updated.
    Forget about the polarized questions the schematic tells me that…..duh.
    thanks
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2021 at 7:23 PM
  9. NTC

    NTC Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Those "bumblebee " caps are probably just standard caps that don't need replacing. What is the date on the schematic? And which caps are they?

    Traynor YBA-1's have the schematic in the top of the chassis, for those of you not familiar with these beasts. Another reason to love them...
     
    Wally and ce24 like this.
  10. ce24

    ce24 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,883
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Idahoastan
    That's good news on the bumblebees, they are not polarized as per schematic....It's being delivered next Wednesday... The serial indicates a 1973.
     
  11. Wally

    Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    39,324
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    ce24, I don’t replace tone and coupling caps unless the cap is bad….unless the caps are paper in oil, which would be found in older amps from the early ‘60s on back. PIO caps do not stand up to the test of time as do the later film caps, and I replace them without questioning.
     
    ce24 likes this.
  12. NTC

    NTC Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    In the lower right of the schematic is a signature and date. What is the date there?
     
    ce24 likes this.
  13. ce24

    ce24 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,883
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Idahoastan
    I'll check when it arrives next Wednesday.
     
  14. NTC

    NTC Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Cool.
     
    ce24 likes this.
  15. ce24

    ce24 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,883
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Idahoastan
    A guy on the traynor FB page said these were designed for 16 ohm cabs for a parallel load of 8 ohm. So i figure either a16 or an 8 ohm single cab is fine.Here is a pic of the schematic from the amp…looks to be 72 3ABD3C17-249F-41A6-9F2E-2E0A9C34D1FF.png
     
    Wally likes this.
  16. Doctorx33

    Doctorx33 Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    66
    Posts:
    2,014
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Location:
    Atlanta
    When you get it, fire it up, plug in your guitar, dime it, and prepare to hear the voice of the gods.
     
    ce24 and kLyon like this.
  17. ce24

    ce24 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,883
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Idahoastan
    Lol…thats the plan!!!!!!
     
    Doctorx33 likes this.
  18. Wally

    Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    39,324
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Did you mean to say that the Traynor FB page said that these amps were designed to be run with 2 x 16 ohm cabs in parallel for a total load of 8 ohms…because that OT is indicated to be an 8 ohm OT on the schematic??
     
  19. ce24

    ce24 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,883
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Idahoastan
    Thats what he said…….here. Now i see the 8 ohm on the schem.
    “Ideally, the amp was designed to run with 2x16ohm cabs so it was at 8ohm. But it's a workhorse that can run at 4 or even 16”
     
  20. ce24

    ce24 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,883
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Idahoastan
    So i’m thinking one 8 ohm cab is to spec and two 16 ohm cabs is to spec. Both are 8 ohm loads as per schematic.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.