Yamaha THR10 VS ???

Discussion in 'Modeling Amps, Plugins and Apps' started by meirmusic, Jun 16, 2016.

  1. Brian Dress

    Brian Dress Tele-Meister

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Location:
    Anaheim
    but in all seriousness, the THR10 is amazing! You can even modify it to put the output to a cab if you want.
     
  2. 43mmNut

    43mmNut TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Location:
    Rockville, Md
    I've had my THR10 now for a few weeks, and I'm impressed with how versatile it is, tone and volume wise. Anid it's too easy just to pick it up and move to another location when needed.
     
  3. Brian Dress

    Brian Dress Tele-Meister

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Location:
    Anaheim
    um something really cool that the THR can do. USB interface to the desktop...and then run the output of the PC to its speakers...so send the DI from the amp to...BIAS Amp and unlock limitless tones! Oh man so frickin cool
     
    Cliffyg62 likes this.
  4. Ser_Bob

    Ser_Bob TDPRI Member

    Age:
    27
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Location:
    Portugal
    Can you use the THR as the usb interface or do you need to buy a separate interface?
     
  5. foundjoe

    foundjoe Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    701
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas
    You can use the THR as the interface although it's overkill if that's all you use the THR for.
     
  6. Ser_Bob

    Ser_Bob TDPRI Member

    Age:
    27
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Location:
    Portugal
    But the signal you send to Bias or other software will first go through the THR simulations right? So you use the clean channel to do it?
     
  7. Hexabuzz

    Hexabuzz Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,558
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    Location:
    Northeast PA
    At your DAW, you can specify a dry (unaffected) signal or one with an amp sim, so it can act as a true interface.
     
  8. Ser_Bob

    Ser_Bob TDPRI Member

    Age:
    27
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Location:
    Portugal
    Do you need a DAW for that? I use Bias (and Amplitube) standalone editions and not plugins with a DAW.
     
  9. Hexabuzz

    Hexabuzz Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,558
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    Location:
    Northeast PA
    It should be available under your input channel for whatever you're using (or at system level). The THR definitely sends a L/R dry and a L/R affected signal at the same time over USB, and that has nothing to do with the DAW.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2016
  10. Alamo

    Alamo Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    11,414
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Location:
    Berlin
    Best thing about the THR's is -- you can hide them in the kitchen, next to the toaster and microwave without being detected.
    whoot? who's been playing too loud? :confused::D
     
  11. Brian Dress

    Brian Dress Tele-Meister

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Location:
    Anaheim
    I use Bias standalone as well. It lets you pick the active input. I unchecked the boxes marked THR L and THR R and only leave the ones that say DI checked.
     
  12. Brian Dress

    Brian Dress Tele-Meister

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Location:
    Anaheim
    Don't get me wrong. The THR models are amazing. You can pull some awesome sounds from that little guy. I was just messing with some super high gain stuff and also playing with some FX I don't normally use.
     
  13. gambiz

    gambiz TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Location:
    sweden
    How does the buildt in compressor compare too a real one? Could i get some country spank from it? Anybody tried the thr10 in that purpose?
     
  14. rze99

    rze99 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,153
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    South London UK
    The 10 C is perfect for the living room for me. Solved. Also a really decent sound bar for devices .
     
    LPTyler likes this.
  15. foundjoe

    foundjoe Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    701
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas
    You have to be hooked up to the PC and editing software to use the compressor. I haven't used it much but thought it was pretty effective. You could save to a preset for when you're not connected.
     
  16. Lobomov

    Lobomov Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,944
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Location:
    Europa
    Amazing how much detail you guys can hear. To me it sounds decent. No where near a good amp, but for playing in my apartment it gets the job done. I have it, recommend it, but honestly couldn't care less if it is the 10 or 10c or ... :)

    The small katanas and cube are also good choices.
     
  17. Tele22

    Tele22 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Location:
    Europe
    I'm not familiar with the Yamaha Thr amps, but I know people love them.

    I use a Vox Mini5 Rhythm at home, and really like it.

    It has headphone output, aux-in for playing along with MP3's, a line-in for using a microphone (as a singer, this is important to me), and a built-in drum machine which sounds really good.

    It's a very fun & useful amp. Think it cost about EUR 150.
     
  18. BoogerRooger

    BoogerRooger Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,204
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Location:
    Suffolk Coast
    For me it's the guitar that makes the difference with my 10C. I don't care much for the tele unless it's very clean. P90s are better but with humbuckers on a LP it does really sing!
     
    Cliffyg62 and LPTyler like this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.