Working with spalted maple top

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by 1954 Esquire, Oct 5, 2019.

1. 1954 Esquire

1954 Esquire TDPRI Member

Decided to build a spalted maple topped Tele. This is my first time dealing with this type of wood and found out while trimming it that there are ‘soft’ sections. My concern is once I start to trim the top with a router I run the chance of running into a chipping issue. My thoughts are to use a thinned epoxy mixture, probably brushed on to help stabilize the ‘soft’ areas and doing the entire top for uniformity. Is this a good idea or are there better ways of dealing with it.

2. Speedy454

Speedy454 Tele-Holic

I saturated it with thinned Z-Poxy to stabilize it. It worked well for me. Others will suggest saturating it with CA gkue. Different product, same result. Either make a solid base for any finish you would put on it.

3. 1954 Esquire

Was planning on using Z-poxy thinned with denatured alcohol. Going to use stain on the top to bring the grain out, should this be done before the Z-poxy?

4. 1954 Esquire

Will not be using stain, will be using TransTint dye.

5. Freeman Keller

Freeman Keller Friend of Leo's

I think it is very common to stabilize spalted wood with either an epoxy or CA. Zpoxy has become my standard pore filling product and I even wrote a thread about how I use it. I also do a fair amount of staining, both to highlight wood grain and to change its color. I apply the stain first, directly to the wood, but I am told by one of our finishing professionals that what I do is all wrong. In your case I would definitely experiment on some scrap before committing to your actual wood.

In case you are interested, here is the article on zpoxy. Please note that I have never worked with spalted wood.

https://www.tdpri.com/threads/zpoxy-for-pore-fill-and-grain-enhancement.940522/

wadeeinkauf likes this.
  6. 1954 Esquire

Thanks so much for the reply and the link.

7. Nickfl

Nickfl Tele-Afflicted