Wood filler and sanding sealer

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by jtoomb, Sep 11, 2019 at 12:20 AM.

1. jtoomb

jtoomb TDPRI Member

Hi all, total beginner here. I’ve started my first build and I seem to have an issue with my nitro sanding sealer. When I stripped the original paint off I made some gouges in the wood, so I filled them with wood filler. After filling, sanding and spraying sanding sealer there are areas where the filler doesn’t seem to be accepting the sealer. I noticed after drying for 48 hours or so the sheen is dull and flat where the larger areas of filler are compared to somewhat shiny sheen where it was bare wood. I sanded the sealer off and was hoping for suggestions before I try sealing round two. Any and all suggestions would be very much appreciated. Cheers.

2. RottenTheCat

RottenTheCat Tele-Meister

What's the final finish going to be?

Why the "sealer"?

What kind of wood?

What was the filler?

3. jtoomb

jtoomb TDPRI Member

Sorry, I’m not sure I understand the ‘why the sealer’ part. Maybe my terminology is wrong. I’m referring to the base coat I’ll sand for a glass smooth body. It’s on an agathis body and the filler is DAP plastic wood that is ’sandable, paintable and stainable. I sprayed an entire can of sealer, 6 coats. After sealing, the plan was to spray a white primer, LPB metallic and nitro clear.

Last edited: Sep 11, 2019 at 1:01 AM
  4. POS Guitars

POS Guitars TDPRI Member

I wouldn't worry about it. Your paint will stick to anything, especially, if you're using rattle cans.

5. rolandson

rolandson TDPRI Member

This is an excellent resource whether one buys from them or not. The guidance offered is outstanding.

https://www.reranch.com

Specifically, Reranch 101 and Basic Refinishing are quite useful. The forum section is also a good resource.

Regarding your issue with Dap Plastic wood filler: