1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Wiring up a Tele for Stereo/mono output

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by Juiced, Nov 24, 2020.

  1. Juiced

    Juiced TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Location:
    Charleston SC
    Hello all.

    I have a Tele I want to set up for stereo /mono output. I speak Geek so technical information is good.

    The specs:
    One stereo jack
    Two volumes - no tone
    3 way blade switch can be changed out to a toggle (unless you have a diagram with a Strat/Tele super switch)
    Switch position 1- Neck through both outputs with single volume control
    Switch position 2- both outputs in stereo mode with individual volume controls
    Switch position 3- Bridge through both outputs with single volume control

    Thanks!

    Crazy Ed
     
  2. beanluc

    beanluc Tele-Holic

    Age:
    51
    Posts:
    576
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2020
    Location:
    California Bay Area
    What do you want the individual volume controls to do in position 2?

    Balance/pan the two-pickup stereo signal?

    One pickup on one channel, other pickup on the other channel, independent pickup volumes?
     
  3. Juiced

    Juiced TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Location:
    Charleston SC
    One pickup on one channel, other pickup on the other channel, independent pickup volumes.

    After looking at a standard Tele wafer switch, I may be able to use it as a split wafer and make this easy.....
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2020
  4. Wulf

    Wulf Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    56
    Posts:
    1,443
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2020
    Location:
    Saltburn England
    reminds me of ric-o-sound
    neck pickup to one amp bridge pickup to another
    a stereo out and a mono out.stereo.via a splitter ric-o-sound box.all a feature i found no real use for and sucked tone and output due to the extra wiring...a gimmick that may have been of some use to some...didnt use it myself and found a ric 330 much better suited to my style...much better sound to be honest...much more output and MUCH fuller sounding
    however i can see that some might like to incorporate it..its a simple circuit...best advice i can give..look up wiring for a ric360 and adapt it to your instrument
    i was advised yrs ago by one of the best luthiers in the biz...gimmicks dont really work well on guitars...ive tried to stick by that...but had to try the stereo output...
    waste of time...and it means lugging more amps...bits than can stop working with no warning...usually as you are about to shine
    my ric360 was feeble compared to my ric 330
    same hi gain pups..but that extra wiring did tell
    360 in mono op was still no match for 330
    looked a bit flashier ...but thats not the point
    i miss my 330...360? no not really
    had to sell em to keep roof over my head...
    could still weep about it
    https://www.yorkmix.com/this-must-be-the-most-remarkable-gift-sold-in-york-this-christmas/
    from the man that said gimmicks dont work.....have a look at that n weep
    made by my guitar fixing mentor and Good Friend..he taught me everything i know about guitars a Great Man...and a Great Friend...taught me from 11 or 12 because i would listen
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2020
    Juiced likes this.
  5. Juiced

    Juiced TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Location:
    Charleston SC
    OK, I got it figured out, simpler that I thought. I will let you all know if it works!

    Ed
     
  6. Juiced

    Juiced TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Location:
    Charleston SC
    It is ALIIIIIVE!!!!

    Sounds great too!

    Crazy Ed
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.