1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

wiring question

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by Marn99, Dec 16, 2016.

  1. Marn99

    Marn99 Tele-Holic

    Age:
    21
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Location:
    Brookfield, WI
    So I got the premium 4 way Tele wiring Kit from Stewmac and I think it will work but I don't know if it's true to traditional wiring, especially the cover ground coming off of the top of the neck pickup. It says on the sheet that I would need to modify the neck pickup but I don't want to do this. Did I buy the wrong kit?
    [​IMG]
     
  2. boredguy6060

    boredguy6060 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,621
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Location:
    Sou Cal
    You need to follow a very simple mod to use a 4 way switch.
    In the end you need a separate ground for the neck pick up cover.
    I can't get a link to post, but google Tele 4 way switch mod. It will walk you through it, it takes all of 3 minutes to do.
    Good luck,
     
    Marn99 likes this.
  3. Meteorman

    Meteorman Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,007
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Location:
    State College PA
    Did you buy the wrong kit?
    Not if you wanted the standard 4-way tele wiring.
    Here's Phostenix's diagram for a 4-way - looks the same except StewMac added a treble bleed cap on the Vol pot. Thats optional.
    The neck cover ground wouldn't really come off the top of the cover.

    [​IMG]
     
    Marn99 likes this.
  4. dsutton24

    dsutton24 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    10,207
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Location:
    Illinois
    The 4 way switch is not a 'traditional' control scheme. There's nothing wrong with it, lots of people like the series position.
     
    Marn99 likes this.
  5. boredguy6060

    boredguy6060 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,621
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Location:
    Sou Cal
    I guess it needs to be asked, is your neck pick up a 2 wire or 3 wire?
     
    Marn99 likes this.
  6. 65 Champ Amp

    65 Champ Amp Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,282
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois-Wisconsin line
  7. moosie

    moosie Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    17,803
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Location:
    Western Connecticut
    Right. If you have a three wire neck pickup, then you already have the cover ground separated from the pickup's common (which is not always grounded in a 4-way setup).

    If you only have two wires, then look where the wires connect to the pickup. See a short bare wire (like 1/4") connecting the cover to the rest of it? Carefully clip that wire close to the existing lead, so you now have a third wire (except that it's just 1/4" long). Now either solder something to that, or clean up the short wire first, whatever's the easiest way to solder a third lead to spot where that short one connects to the cover.

    Why is this necessary? Because in a parallel or single pickup configuration, the common leg is hardwired to ground. So, just connect the cover via that little wire, easy. But with series wiring the pickups aren't each hooked to ground and hot. They're first connected TO EACH OTHER, and then the common leg of one goes to ground, and the hot leg of the other goes to the volume pot. The 'other' in this scenario is the neck pickup. The common lead alternately connects to ground, or to the other pickup, depending on switch position.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2016
  8. Marn99

    Marn99 Tele-Holic

    Age:
    21
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Location:
    Brookfield, WI
    Thanks for clearing this up everyone, this is my first time wiring!
     
  9. Marn99

    Marn99 Tele-Holic

    Age:
    21
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Location:
    Brookfield, WI
    Do you have an image? this is my first time wiring and visuals help :)
     
  10. dsutton24

    dsutton24 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    10,207
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Location:
    Illinois
    This is the jumper:

    [​IMG]

    Clip the jumper and attach a new (third) wire to the cover. I usually solder my new wire to one of the tabs that secure the cover to the flatwork. The new wire is the heavy black one in your drawing that gets soldered to the back of the volume pot.
     
    moosie and Marn99 like this.
  11. Marn99

    Marn99 Tele-Holic

    Age:
    21
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Location:
    Brookfield, WI
    thanks :)
     
  12. dsutton24

    dsutton24 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    10,207
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Location:
    Illinois
    awasson likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.