Wiring help

jdfoosh357

Tele-Holic
I ordered this custom wiring harness from Hoagland Custom and they aren’t returning my calls. I have two questions. I have basic soldering experience, but limited electrical experience. I don’t understand this diagram. Can you help?

1. There are 7 grounding symbols. How do I practically do this?

2. The diagram shows that on the output jack, the blue and green wires are wired to the same terminal. When I received the kit, the blue and green wires were soldered to separate terminals on the output jack. Is this ok? If so, how do I go about grounding the output jack?

🙏

jdfoosh357

Tele-Holic
Here’s the diagram. TIA.

Attachments

• DF872C45-3FA7-4C9B-88A6-18502EADB61D.jpeg
    DF872C45-3FA7-4C9B-88A6-18502EADB61D.jpeg
    180.1 KB · Views: 36

SRHmusic

Tele-Afflicted
On grounding, you idealy should choose a common point for ground and then provide enough surface or room to solder the ground wires there. The signal grounds are a more critical than shield grounds for maintaining this "star" ground arrangement, but they should all at least have a good connection to the common point.

For example, I've seen a number of pickguards where the pot cases are connected with a relatively thick bare wire, and then a single connection from the volume pot to the common point.

I've taken to adding a small rectangle of copperclad board beside the volume pot for this, rather than soldering a large number of wires to the pot's case. Another option is to add a screw lug, which can be screwed into the body.

Alex_C

Tele-Afflicted
The standard practice is to solder most to the back of one of the pots. Make sure you have a hot iron otherwise you'll slow cook the pot.

jdfoosh357

Tele-Holic
So in the diagram above, I should wire all three pickups to the case of the first volume pot. What about the 2nd volume pot? Then i run a wire from the volume pot to where exactly? How do I ground the output jack?