Wiring help

buckfever1455

TDPRI Member
I'm working on a project guitar.
The tell has a humbucker in the neck position. I'm replacing it with a p90.
The humbucker has 1 white wire going to the switch & 1 necked ground wire going to the pot. The p90 has only 1 wire with the braid on the outside. From what I'm reading the braid is the ground.
My confusion is where does either of the go. Back like the humbucker or both on the pot. This is my first time ever in the guts of a guitar, so I'm lost. Attaching pick of the current wiring of humbucker.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20220122-153137.png
    Screenshot_20220122-153137.png
    1 MB · Views: 20

BB

Poster Extraordinaire
Yes, the braid is the ground. Solder to back of pot...solder the hot of P90 where hot of bucker was. Easy Peasy! Good luck

Peegoo

Doctor of Teleocity
There are several ways to do this. The simplest is to push the braid back, lay it on the pre-tinned pot back, and tack it in place. Attach the core/signal wire to to where it needs to go.

pu+ground.jpg

buckfever1455

TDPRI Member
In your photo you have the hot and the ground ( braid) on the pot. Look at the pick I posted of the humbucker. The white wire is on the switch, the ground is on the pot. Do I not put the hot from the p90 back on the switch.?????
The reply from BB if I understand is saying put hot back on switch ground on pot.
your saying both on pot. I think I need clarification !!!!!!

buckfever1455

TDPRI Member
Yes, the braid is the ground. Solder to back of pot...solder the hot of P90 where hot of bucker was. Easy Peasy! Good luck
Need clarification , read my reply to peegoo.
Thank y'all for trying to help. And sorry for being dump about it.

moosie

Doctor of Teleocity
Silver Supporter