1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Wiring Help

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Laren, Nov 26, 2020.

  1. Laren

    Laren Tele-Meister

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2020
    Location:
    West Somerset
    Hi guys,

    Best way to run the wires for a 'LP' positioned switch? Seems obvious to me but I've not done one before, so just in case.

    1. Pups to switch
    2. Shielded cable back to control cavity

    ?

    Many thanks as always.

    IMG_20201126_141419.jpg
     
    crazydave911 likes this.
  2. guitarbuilder

    guitarbuilder Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    22,809
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Location:
    Ontario County
    I solder/ wire the switch out of the guitar. Then fish the wires through to the control cavity. Make sure they conductors are long enough. Did you do the Gibson control cover or not?
     
    crazydave911 likes this.
  3. Laren

    Laren Tele-Meister

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2020
    Location:
    West Somerset
    Sorry I missed that rather important bit. No switch access from the back. Switch fits (I hope) back down the 'f-hole'.
     
    crazydave911 likes this.
  4. smoothrecluse

    smoothrecluse Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Location:
    Panther City, TX
    Is the whole guitar hollow? When I rewired my Greco 335-style I went through the pickup cavities to reach everything. A pair of hemostats and a bunch of garden tie wire worked beautifully to fish everything through.
     
    crazydave911 and Wulf like this.
  5. Laren

    Laren Tele-Meister

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2020
    Location:
    West Somerset
    Just both sides hollow. I have routed a channel between them and through the pups cavities.
     
    crazydave911 likes this.
  6. Wulf

    Wulf Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    56
    Posts:
    1,443
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2020
    Location:
    Saltburn England
    how many vol and tones you got there?...if you wire pick up to vol pot to switch you get fully independant volumes..if using 2 pots .otherwise one will affect the other
    if not then yes..pickups to switch..to pot...make sure everything is grounded
    with out shielding in there either twist your wiring or use co axial wire or noise may be a problem...the tight proximity of twisted wire helps cut out hum
     
    crazydave911 and Laren like this.
  7. Laren

    Laren Tele-Meister

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2020
    Location:
    West Somerset
    Just the 1 vol and 1 tone.
     
    crazydave911 likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.