wiring diagram differences?

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by dami11e, Nov 17, 2019.

1. dami11e

dami11e TDPRI Member

hi all

long-time lurker, and have found tons of useful information here over the years. i'm hoping you all will be willing to help out with a couple wiring questions of my own. i'm a noob, as they say, so go easy on me.

some back story/context before i get to the question... i bought my am. series tele new back in 1994. paid a local shop to switch out the original pickups for humbuckers shortly after. a handful of bands and 25 years later, i want to bring it back to spec. i recently got a new control plate from 920d for my birthday and i have the original pickups, so i wanted to get to work. i'm new to soldering/wiring. the original pickups have the original wires soldered to them still, so this process is much easier. and with that said, i'm finding myself with a couple questions i want to understand better before moving forward.

1) do pickups have designated "hot" and "ground" eyelet holes? if so, how does one tell which is which?
    2) how do i understand the differences between the two following diagrams?

according to fender's 3 way wiring diagram, the bridge pickup's yellow wire is hot and goes to the switch, while the black wire is the ground and goes to the volume pot. for the neck pickup, the white wire is hot and goes to the switch, while a shielded wire goes to the control plate/switch. these are consistent between the diagram and each of the physical, original pickups. (i'm basing their 'consistency' on the wire coloration, by the way, not on their physical connection.)