Wiring Cliff output speaker jacks

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by DucDone, Jul 30, 2021.

  1. DucDone

    DucDone Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Location:
    Bergen
    Hi. I am a bit uncertain on the best way to wire three speaker outputs, Cliff jacks instead of the ohm selector. Anyone has a good layout for that?
     
  2. Paul G.

    Paul G. Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,849
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    I'm assuming you want a separate jack for each transformer output impedance?

    If so, you don't want the switching to be connected on any of the jacks.

    Bridge all of the grounds together -- the connectors closest to the front of the jack to the common output of the transformer -- then connect each transformer output to the hot of each individual jack.


    Since you can't have switching, make sure there is always a speaker plugged in before turning on the amp.
     
    King Fan and Peegoo like this.
  3. Paul G.

    Paul G. Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,849
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Not the greatest picture, but here's a sample.

    flomoozlecrop.jpg
     
  4. corliss1

    corliss1 Poster Extraordinaire Platinum Supporter

    Posts:
    5,043
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    what @Paul G. posted - tie all the grounds together, and then each output to the hot connector. You're basically just not using any of the switching functions of those style jacks.
     
    King Fan likes this.
  5. King Fan

    King Fan Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    6,856
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    Good info. Is the absence of a switching jack maybe an argument for a selector switch? I see this done with multiple jacks a lot, so that must be a popular solution… but we also see many worried posts by folks who forgot to plug in a speaker.
     
  6. Jon Snell

    Jon Snell Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    946
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Location:
    Jurassic Coast. Great Britian.
    Why not fit switch jacks and wire accordingly using a small relay and the heater supply to power it.
    Screenshot 2021-07-30 at 20.53.50.png
    That's what I do.
     
  7. Bendyha

    Bendyha Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    2,781
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    upload_2021-7-30_22-22-38.png
    Neat! I like it. Thanks Jon.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Bendyha

    Bendyha Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    2,781
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Location:
    Northern Germany
    These are for two optional impedances using switching cliff jacks the way I do it.

    upload_2021-7-30_22-29-20.png
     
  9. schmee

    schmee Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    16,348
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    northwest
    Just use the switch and the original grounding jack (after the switch) that the amp came with.
    You are now just like original, but with various impedance taps.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.