WIRED

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by The Real Jake, Jun 10, 2021 at 8:28 PM.

1. The Real Jake

The Real Jake TDPRI Member

Tele People,

I'm new to telecaster wiring and pickup installation, but I'm giving it a go.
    It seems I have all the components I need, but one small problem.

The wires on a standard tele neck pickup I need to install have been cut way too short, I'll need to extend them. Do I need to buy specific cloth telecaster wiring from Stew Mac or Reverb or would Home depot have something that would suffice? What type of wiring would it be?

Can you tell me anything about extension wires for p90 pickups or the a standard telecaster bridge pickup?

I don't care what it looks like below the pickguard, as long as it works when it's plugged in!

-TRJ

2. Beebe

Beebe TDPRI Member

Sounds like Home Depot would have it. Look for just what StewMac sells for pickup extension wire: 22 American Wire Gauge (AWG) stranded and insulated. It does not need to be tinned (that just means they put some solder on it already and you can tin the wire yourself). Get some shrink tubing to cover up the solder splices. And get two different jacket colors, one for signal and one for ground. I personally like spending the extra money on the cool vintage stuff, but for what you describe, you really don't need it. Fender uses wire really similar to what you'll find in the home Depot electrical section. They might have it on reels and sell by the ft. In which case it'll cost you very little.

aging_rocker and trev333 like this.
  3. trev333

trev333 Telefied Ad Free Member

any wire a similar size will work..... car wiring for eg... put some shrink tubing to cover the join... :)

4. SRHmusic

SRHmusic Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter