1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Wire wound vs metal film resistors.

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by A13X, Jan 25, 2021.

1. A13X

A13X TDPRI Member

Hey all,

I purchased a mod kit for a hot rod deluxe. They sent two metal film 5w 470 ohm resistors instead of the wire wound as pictured in the kit. If it's no big deal, I don't want to hassle the seller, but I was a little concerned as these two resistors seem to be a common point of failure (do to over heating) in this amp. I have some experience but not enough to know if my concern of heat, consistency, longevity, etc, justifies a request for a replacement.
    You're knowledge would be greatly appreciated. TIA

Last edited: Jan 25, 2021
  2. Squawker

Squawker Tele-Holic

5W max. power rating is what it is.

Wirewounds are inductive (they're little coils), but metal film aren't. So they're "better" resistors. And if they're 5W rated then assume they can handle it as well as a 5W wirewound.

It's called progress

DeepDangler, DougM and A13X like this.
  3. A13X

A13X TDPRI Member

Progress is what I hope I'm making in my journey to better understand electronics.

Thank you for your reply and knowledge

4. Dan_Pomykalski

Dan_Pomykalski Tele-Meister

Good on you for doing your research before contacting the seller.

You could always sent them a polite email asking them why the substitution though? You could also order the wirewound resistors yourself if you wanted to. I think those are like $1something from tubesandmore.com. You shouldn’t have to, but honestly that’s the route I’d go for least amount of hassle.

As long as the rating’s the same though, I don’t think it’s a huge deal. Are these for grid stoppers?

A13X likes this.
  5. Commodore 64

Commodore 64 Friend of Leo's