1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Will headphones solve my hearing problems?

Discussion in 'Recording In Progress' started by Slim Chance, Oct 30, 2020.

1. Slim Chance

Slim Chance Tele-Afflicted

So I've dipped my toe in to recording myself using my new SM-57 into an older PreSonus Inspire interface with GarageBand. At this point my aim is to be able to solo over backing tracks that either I find online or create myself. Since I'm still new at this I have been experimenting with recording using both an amp and the amp sims in GB. Monitoring has been through computer speakers (not the built in ones, though.)

My quandary is that when recording with my amp at the necessary volume, I have trouble hearing the backing track out of the computer unless it is also turned up loud. This is further complicated by the fact that I can only hear out of my left ear so I live my life in mono and determining sound direction is often very difficult.

I'm considering getting a pair of closed back headphones to help hearing the backing tracks better. My question, therefore, is can I monitor both the guitar I'm recording, mic'ed through an amp and a backing track played in GarageBand through headphones at the same time? I assume that the closed back will cut most, but not all of the amp volume.

If what I've written above isn't clear, my apologies. I lost hearing in the right ear nine years ago and still struggle to compensate. Feel free to ask questions if my explanation isn't clear. I don't currently own headphones, but am willing to buy a pair if it will help me be able to hear what I am playing through an amp and from the computer at the appropriate levels.

2. Telenator

Telenator Doctor of Teleocity Vendor Member

Or, just put the amp in a separate room, crank it up and get'er done.

nedorama likes this.