1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Will a ground wire fix this?

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by Bryan A, Mar 7, 2021.

1. Bryan A

Bryan A Tele-Meister

I know this is a dumb question, but I am a novice when it comes to electronics, so...

I got a set of Rio Grande Dirty Harry pickups. My assumption was that if the neck pickup is uncovered, it doesn’t have to be grounded. But I am getting the worst hum I’ve ever experienced from a guitar. When I push in either the volume or tone knob, the hum stops. So is this simply a matter of one or both of the pickups needing to be grounded, or does it sound like it’s some other issue?

thanks

2. Steve Holt

Steve Holt Friend of Leo's

Push in the volume or tone? Sounds like there may be a bit more going on than just pickups. What do your volume and tone knobs do? Coil split?

If there is no cover then what are you going to ground? The pickup itself should have two or more wires one going to possibly a switch and the other going to ground. I'd like to see some pictures of your guitar, pickups, and wiring to learn more and help you out!

Edit: just Googled the pickup in question and it looks like just a regular single coil.

Also not a dumb question!

Bryan A likes this.
  3. Bryan A

Bryan A Tele-Meister

it’s a 52 avri and was working fine with the stock pickups. The new ones are wired exactly the same way, except the neck pickup isn’t grounded because there’s no metal cover over it like standard Tele neck pickups. Both pickups have the standard positive and negative wires. There’s just no ground wire for the neck pickup because there’s no metal cover. Otherwise, they’re wired exactly the same as the old ones.