why I started playing the bass

Discussion in 'The BASS Place' started by Digital Larry, Sep 16, 2019.

1. Digital Larry

Digital Larry Tele-Afflicted

I really got into music my 3rd year of college. I met some guys and gals around the dorm and we started playing some rock and roll tunes and going to the open mic at the campus coffee house.

A guy in the dorm had a white Music Man he said he wanted to learn to play but I never saw him doing it. So I borrowed it for awhile. i liked it. I think some of the reasons I continued to play bass include:

a) I'm a team player and don't mind not being in the spotlight
    b) Playing something simple and repetitive actually made other people happy
    c) The lines for bass players at the blues jams I wound up at a few years later were WAYYYYY shorter than the guitar player lines.
    d) There is a visceral component of throwing those heavy ropes around completely absent in guitar playing.

How bout you?

2. bftfender

bftfender Friend of Leo's

25 years on it recent guitar conversion.

The bass & drums is the motor..it drives...

what you can do on bass can eliminate xtra guitar stuff

would rather play bass but stuck on guitar

Buttercup (2).jpg Jazz (2).jpg pf50t (2).jpg

3. Dismalhead

Dismalhead Poster Extraordinaire

I started playing bass because I needed one to lay down tracks on my recordings. Fell in love with it and the guitar took a back seat for a couple of years to my bass. Still play it pretty frequently. I love locking in with a drummer and laying down the funk.

4. Gaz_

Gaz_ TDPRI Member

I'm just trying to buy my first one at the moment. We've ended up with 3 guitarist and a drummer. It's a merge of two bands, I was the rhythm guitarist, and lead singer in both. We thought we'd get a bass to pass around for whoever has the least important role on guitar. I thought I'd best get one to practice on at home! Alot of youtube watching coming up!

5. Whatizitman

Whatizitman Friend of Leo's