Why do I enjoy watching engine rebuild videos?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by TheGoodTexan, Aug 14, 2019.

1. TheGoodTexan

TheGoodTexan Moderator Staff Member Ad Free Member

I am not a mechanic. I can do general maintenance... oil changes, replacing bolt-on parts (like a thermostat), but after that I pretty much leave it to the professionals.

I only understand about 25% of what these guys are doing, but watching a good mechanic work... with all of the right tools and such... is just fascinating to me. Even in a case where its just a run-of-the-mill motor with nothing really special done to it. I just like watching those guys explain not only the "how" but also the "why".

2. Toto'sDad

Toto'sDad Telefied Ad Free Member

When I first moved to Bakersfield I worked as a mechanic in an Oliver/New Holland dealership. One of my duties was complete rebuilds of air cooled Wisconsin VG4D, and V461D engines. This entailed a complete tear down, valve job, boring the cylinders, turning the crank (if needed or possible) or replacing it. We had an indoor test stand for running the engines in. I also did diesel engine repair on White Oliver tractors, and New Holland combines. The New Holland combines had British designed and manufactured engines, they were the most difficult to work on because the specs changed from engine to engine. You had to really be careful. The Brits never threw anything away. It was common to find an engine with undersized main bearings from the factory. They were all the same engines, but you really had to be careful in sizing the main, and rod bearings.