1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Why Are Basses So... Un-pretty?

Discussion in 'The BASS Place' started by insanitizer, Mar 18, 2016.

1. insanitizer

insanitizer Former Member

I am a guitarist and want to get into bass a little for my home recording. I have been looking for a short scale bass and looked thru about 40 pages of basses for sale on the bay and local CL this morning. I came up with 7 possibilities? Wow! or Whoa! I should say. For me I need the instrument to be several things before I lay down any money. I am looking for aesthetically pleasing, affordable, not warped (dings are fine), short scale, vintage and with a case. Like I said I found 7 and of those 2 I might give some real thought to and those I will most likely be outbid on, but I will try. Anyhow, my statement is ... If those other 1,000 basses I viewed this morning were even kind of cool looking or not so uncool looking I would be in business at an affordable price point. Why are they all made with weird head stocks or strange details that aren't streamline and really a turn off?

DonM and Iron Broadsword like this.
  2. Martin R

Martin R Friend of Leo's

Maybe it's because a bass player is holding it*.

Seriously, Rik's look great.

*Unless of course, it's our bass player.
    Laura pic.jpg

Last edited: Mar 18, 2016
    kafka, J Hog, blkpwdr and 5 others like this.
  3. insanitizer

Ricks are beauts but WAY out of my price range.

4. sir humphrey

sir humphrey Friend of Leo's

Yeah Ricks are almost worth playing bass for (almost) - prettier than any six string.

songtalk likes this.
  5. songtalk

songtalk Friend of Leo's

My one regret is selling a fireglo 4003 :(

6. Jakedog

Jakedog Telefied Ad Free Member

I dunno. I like a lot of basses. I can pretty much always easily find one I like.