Which practice amp?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by cucurrucucu, Nov 11, 2009.

1. cucurrucucu

cucurrucucu TDPRI Member

Hi, I'm new to the forum, although I've been lurking for a while. Let me start off by saying that I'm a guitar newbie, but I've been playing the bass for 8 years. Recently, I found an American Standard Strat for a great price so I decided to buy it and learn to play the guitar. So, I've been playing it unplugged for the past few weeks and I think it's time I got an amp. I've browsed all the practice amp threads in this forum and, to be honest, I ended up more confused than I was before. I'm looking to get an amp that will not cost an arm and a leg (I'm planning to buy used). These are the options I'm considering, after doing some research:

-Fender Super Champ XD
    -Vox AC4TV
    -Roland Micro Cube
    -Vox AD5

I'm aware these are all different, but I just don't know what's enough for my needs. I'm not interested in portability and number of "features" (built-in effects, headphone, etc) as I'll probably get pedals for the effects I want in the future. I'm more interested in tone and sound quality for funk and rock. I'll be practicing in my bedroom and occasionally playing with a bass player, but that's it. For references, some guitarists I like are John Frusciante and Joe Strummer.

I'm looking to get an amp that will last me some time without the need to upgrade. Of course, it would be ideal to try these amps by myself, but I can barely play the guitar so it would be kinda pointless. Any suggestions are welcome!

Thanks in advance,
    Mike

2. nickrom

nickrom Tele-Meister

Personally, I am a Vox guy - so I would heartily recommend the AC4TV or for the purpose you describe - the Pathfinder 15R. For $120 you will have an amp that sounds great, will be loud enough for your purpose, can plug into a cab for even greater volume and accepts pedals well.

3. Astro1176

Astro1176 Tele-Holic