Which of the following will most improve tone?

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by AgaveBlueCaster, Nov 16, 2008.

1. AgaveBlueCaster

AgaveBlueCaster TDPRI Member

I'm a beginner using a 2006 Fender MIM Standard Tele, extra light GHS boomer strings (09's), a Dunlop 0.6 MM nylon pick, and recording into my computer with a Line 6 toneport. For clean sounds I usually use the "Fender 1958 B-man" patch. The tone is ok, but I feel it should be better. Of the following things I could do which do you think would help the most (taking into consideration that some options are much more expensive than others)?

1. Use heavier gauge strings and/or different brand of strings and/or pick
    2. Get the guitar re-set up and intonated (last adjustment was a year ago)
    3. Sell the MIM standard and get a better guitar
    4. Get different pickups for the MIM standard
    5. Use a different recording/modeling interface than the toneport
    6. Work harder at figuring out how to optimize the toneport settings
    7. Get a small amp (I'm in a condo) and record with a microphone (I have a studio projects B1 and VTB1 preamp that I use for vocals)
    8. Take lessons to improve my playing

2. graphs

graphs Tele-Afflicted

All of them?

except #3...if you get that guitar set up nice there's no reason it shouldn't sound great.

3. ScatMan

ScatMan Friend of Leo's

Start with #2, then #8 and/or practice, practice, practice. After that, decide if you really need or want the other 6 options.

4. robt57

robt57 Telefied Ad Free Member

+1

5. Iris

Iris TDPRI Member

I believe your MIM tele is okay and it's only a computer deal. Get yourself a Good audio card first - this is very important when transferring live guitar sound into 1's and 0's. When recording we use Amplitube2 soft which can emulate almost everything amplifying that has been made so far.
    And practice, practice, practice(C)

6. ajgus

ajgus Friend of Leo's