Which amp is this?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Fullmoon07, Feb 25, 2020.

  1. Fullmoon07

    Fullmoon07 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    242
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Location:
    CA
     
  2. Peegoo

    Peegoo Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    60
    Posts:
    1,200
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2019
    Location:
    USA
    Bassman.
     
  3. Fullmoon07

    Fullmoon07 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    242
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Location:
    CA
    Could it be a Bandmaster or Showman?
     
  4. kennl

    kennl Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,265
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    Moon Township, PA
    Looks like the Bandmaster in my catalog from 1967
    Channel 2 appears to have vibrato, so that rules out Bassman.
    Dual Showman had a larger cabinet and Showman had 1x15”.
     
  5. Fullmoon07

    Fullmoon07 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    242
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Location:
    CA
    Showman has 6 knobs on ch 2
    Bandmaster has 5 knobs on ch 2
    Bassman has 3 on ch 2

    Was there a 4th model of Fender silver-face amp head in 1968?


     
  6. Flakey

    Flakey Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,664
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    The Land of 10,000 Lakes
    Fender Showman Amp w/ a 1X15 bottom

    BTW a Duel Showman had a 2X15 bottom hence the name "Dual Showman". Not that would stop a retailer selling the head with whatever bottom the customer wanted.

    The Bandmaster and Bassman had a 2x12 bottom and the Tremolux had a 2x10 bottom.
     
    Wally likes this.
  7. uriah1

    uriah1 Telefied Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    21,445
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Around
    Ya, Showman... It was the state of the
    art amp back then. In all the brochures.
    You know they would want and get for TV.
     
  8. Lowerleftcoast

    Lowerleftcoast Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    527
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Location:
    california
    I'd say it is a showman but I think the cab is a 2x12. My showman has the 1x15 tone ring cab. It is 24" tall sitting like that. Judging from the size of the bass drum, I would think that cab is 20" tall. (The 2x12 is 20".)

    BB liked it clean. The showman will deliver clean. That's for sure!:cool:

    Bass player is using a dual showman.
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2020
  9. Fullmoon07

    Fullmoon07 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    242
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Location:
    CA
    Which model was like a Twin in a head?
     
  10. Wally

    Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    34,661
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    I agree that it looks like a 2x12 cab. It could be a Dual Showman sitting on top of a Bandmaster cab.


    In the Blonde 6G era, the Twin and the Dual ?Showman were the same amp. In the BF era, the Twin had reverb while the Showman/Dual Showman amp’s lacked reverb. This held true the early SF erafrom April, 1967 until May, 1968 when the first Dual Showman with reverb was introduced...and these amps were the same as a TR but in piggyback form. fwiw, the Bandmaster heads were built on the same chassis as the Showman/Dual Showman amp. That chassis was used for the BF Pro 1x15 amp as well.
     
    Flakey and BobbyZ like this.
  11. Lowerleftcoast

    Lowerleftcoast Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    527
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Location:
    california
    The caps in the PI were different due to the open back vs closed back cabs. At least that is the way my '64 showman is put together.
     
    Wally likes this.
  12. Wally

    Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    34,661
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Lower, yes, the coupling cap was a .001mfd in the TR while they used a 500pfd in the showman amps.

    And...the first Dual Showman..AA763...came with a 2X12 cab. I noticed this while looking at the schematics to refresh my memory on the difference in that coupling cap. This makes wonder if perhaps I should change that coupling cap value in my ‘64 Dual Showman that I have in a 2X10 Pro Sonic cab??? That is a very small value there....compared to .01mfd. 500pfd = .0005mfd......half of the capacitance. I have never done this, but it would perhaps be interesting to have options on a switch here.
     
  13. Lowerleftcoast

    Lowerleftcoast Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    527
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Location:
    california
    Never knew about the 2x12 for a dual showman.

    The knee for the 500pf is about 311Hz.
    The knee for the .001uF is about 156Hz.

    Maybe we should change them to .0047uF. The knee would be 33Hz.
    I get more than plenty of bass out of mine, even with bass guitar. I am happy to leave it as is.
     
    Wally likes this.
  14. Wally

    Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    34,661
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    I have changed .001mfds to the .01mfd as was done by Fender in the early ‘70’s....adds meat.
     
    Lowerleftcoast likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.