Where's The Pocket, anyway?

Jupiter

Telefied
Silver Supporter
I wanna hear some wisdom about The Pocket.

When I started playing electric, I was into the blues, and then studied jazz for a while, and I THINK I MIGHT have a feel for being "in the pocket", thanks to alla that swinging, but thinking about it recently I concluded that I don't really know exactly what "the pocket" IS.

I know that some music seems to want me to push the beat, and some music seems to want a looser vibe. I've also played with bass players that were really precise with their timing (well, actually not that many of em), and others who struggled to find the "1" (unfortunately quite a few of those), and just a very few that really made songs feel GOOD in a way that's hard for me to describe.

So I'd like to hear from the Kool Kats:

How do you define being "in the pocket?" How do you find it? How do you explain it?

Peegoo

Doctor of Teleocity
"Pocket" to me is simply good timing. Where the accented beat is totally depends on the tune, but the pocket is a pulse that just sounds good. It's what makes a tune groove.

It doesn't have to be metronome-tight; it can be loose--like a lot of Keith Richards' rhythm work. It's hard to describe, but when it happens you just know it.

Jupiter

Telefied
Silver Supporter
I remember reading a thing about Guthrie Govan, where he recorded a tune and the producer said, "Can we re-do this? I think your time is a little off." And Guthrie said, "no, that's exactly the way I wanted it," and they looked at the tracks and every note was exactly 3/100ths of a second ahead of the click, or behind, something like that, I can't remember, and that to me is an example of understanding the pocket.

Are there principles we can point to about this? Generalizations that can be made based on genre? Stuff like that.

sax4blues

Poster Extraordinaire
My gut "feel" is: