Where to find a fuse for my amp???

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by lookslikemeband, Feb 4, 2014.

  1. lookslikemeband

    lookslikemeband Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    566
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Location:
    CO - again
    Today I was testing out a guitar I'd worked on.... and ... my Bogner stopped working.

    No loud noise, no pop, no hum, no weird smells.. Still powers up, lights up, changes channels; etc. But no output.

    I changed out guitars, cables, speaker cabs.. EVERYTHING I could think of. Swapped out tubes.... nothing.

    I e-mailed Bogner about it and they said to check the HT fuse. It looks blown.

    Apparently I need to find some 3AG Slow Blow 1.0A fuses. I looked online and I can order them. Any ideas if local electronics stores might have them??

    Thanks!





    (oh man... pleeeeeeeeze be a fuse and not something I have to send to Bogner to fix!!!)
     
  2. MickM

    MickM Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

    Posts:
    4,619
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    A steel guitar engagment.
    Radio shack has them and sometimes you can scare 'em up at a high end stereo or car stereo store or installation shop.
     
  3. soulman969

    soulman969 Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    22,582
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Location:
    Englewood, CO
    Radio Shack is one place and an Auto Parts store is another. They're actually pretty common.
     
  4. SamClemons

    SamClemons Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,180
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Location:
    Jasper, TN
    Many hardware stores would have them. I probably have one or could get it.
     
  5. lookslikemeband

    lookslikemeband Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    566
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Location:
    CO - again
    Thanks everyone! I'll look at Radio Shack tomorrow and report back!
     
  6. codamedia

    codamedia Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,961
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Western Canada
    Those types of fuses are very, very common. Radio Shack, or any electronic store will likely have them in stock.

    Something nobody else has mentioned - so I will!!!!
    DO NOT use the wrong fuse - especially larger... (ie: A 2amp is a LOUSY replacement for a 1amp!) That fuse blew for a reason and protected the amp by doing do. If you put in the wrong fuse the amp may be the next thing to blow.

    3AG Slow Blow 1.0A
    3AG = The shape and physical size of the fuse (aka: the form factor)
    Slow Blow = This means it will handle spikes over the rated current, but not continuous use over the rated current.
    1.0A = The rated current is 1 AMP.. Never go higher than this rating.
     
  7. lookslikemeband

    lookslikemeband Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    566
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Location:
    CO - again

    This is good info!! Thank you!

    Heading to Radio Shack NOW.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.