1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Where to color Nitro?

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by GeminiCG, Oct 26, 2020.

1. GeminiCG

GeminiCG Tele-Meister

Hey everyone,

So, I have had this burning question for a while and it is this: how or where do I go to get clear nitro colored in the Fender/Gibson finishes? I have the paint codes thanks to this site, http://www.guitarhq.com/fenderc.html, but I have no idea where to go to get the colors made for me.

Any and all answers are welcome. I appreciate your advice and knowledge since I am still new at making and understanding guitars.

Thank you,
    Gemini

2. Freeman Keller

Freeman Keller Friend of Leo's

I simply mix transtint dyes (I use the Colortone products) into my clear nitro. That gives me tinted colors - they are still somewhat transparent so I can see wood grain thru the finish. If I wanted opaque colors I would use pigments (but I never do). Dan Erlewine's book on finishing discusses both and gives a fairly comprehensive color chart showing the colors you will get with different amounts of different dyes.

Erlewine also gives some recipes for different traditional Fender and Gibson colors if you are trying to duplicate them.

monkeybanana and fenderchamp like this.
  3. GeminiCG

GeminiCG Tele-Meister

Thanks for the reply. I do in fact own that book too, but I doesn't color all of the finishes and there are some fender and Gibson ones that I wish to have that he doesn't cover.

4. Freeman Keller

I understand. I'm not trying to match colors, just come up with something I like. And all of mine have the wood showing thru so I do a lot of experimenting on scrap before I shoot the real thing.