When did Musicians Friend start calling customers at home?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Anita Bonghit, Nov 18, 2019.

1. Anita Bonghit

Anita Bonghit Tele-Meister

This morning I bought a couple of accessories from MF, less than $20. This evening I got a call from them right at dinner time wanting to know if there was anything else I needed or wanted. They also asked me why I hadn't bought as much as I once did, was something wrong, what do they need to regain my business?
    I have been buying from them for 30 years, just bought a new guitar from them one year ago. I told him I'm pushing 70 and I have a dozen plus guitars, in fact I'm trying to downsize. I hope this is not a direction they decide to take. This is why I do not buy from Sweetwater and will stop buying from MF if this happens again. Anybody else getting these type of calls or am I just lucky?

2. Peegoo

Peegoo Tele-Meister

Sweetwater's been doing this for years. Surprising to me MF has taken this long to catch up.

3. Dan German

Dan German Poster Extraordinaire

This is why my phone number is off limits to retailers. Email address maybe (easier to ignore), but no phone.

beyer160 and Chunkocaster like this.
  4. Jim622

Jim622 Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

I get calls from Sam Ash, usually when they have financing specials. The last was 0% for 48 months. I impressed myself I didn't jump, but I am also getting up there and should be downsizing, and pretty content with what I have.

Festofish and Anita Bonghit like this.
  5. Junkyard Dog

Junkyard Dog Tele-Afflicted

No idea. We don't even answer the phone at the house anymore unless it is a number we are expecting a call from. Same goes for the cell phone. Same for the front door.

Uncle Bob, Bassman8, tery and 9 others like this.
  6. Chunkocaster

Chunkocaster Poster Extraordinaire