What's your favorite fan?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by bparnell57, Aug 14, 2016.

1. bparnell57

bparnell57 Poster Extraordinaire

Well, like the title says!:

What's your favorite fan?

For air circulation that is.

I just yesterday was given a 1920's/early 30's Emerson "Built to Last" 12", 6-blade, 3-speed, automatic oscillating, desk fan, that I believe I will take with me to my new college apartment next month. Whew, that was a run-on.

It's not silent, not by a long shot, and weighs probably 30 pounds with its cast iron base and motor housing, but it moves a lot of air, and shows how quality matters (I'm an engineering student), and looks darn good doing it!

Just don't get your fingers near it... Metal blades with exactly 8 wire spokes preventing I guess your entire arm from going in sideways... Doh!

The guard was to protect the fan. Not your fingers haha.

ImageUploadedByTDPRI1471149403.969523.jpg

2. 1293

1293 Poster Extraordinaire

That's got "Darwin Award" written all over it.

3. Obsessed

Obsessed Telefied Ad Free Member

I just mounted a 40" 12 VDC ceiling fan in our living room. I painted the wood blades with an off black metalflake so that they would appear to be metal. It is 3 speed and reversible from a remote. Amazingly dead quiet. Made for us off gridders, but I guess the manufacturer knows that we are DIY people, because it turned into quite a project.

Ceiling fan 1.jpg

4. bparnell57

Very nice.

My only concern would be energy draw when on standby, given that it has a remote, but I'm sure you have it on a switch anyways...

5. Obsessed