Whats the farthest youve traveled for a one-off show?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by MandyMarie, Feb 23, 2011.

1. MandyMarie

MandyMarie Friend of Leo's

I live in Austin, Texas now and I have to be in my old adopted hometown of Indianapolis, IN for a single show with my "old" bandmates/best pals on Saturday. That's 1094 miles. Each way. I'm excited to see everybody but I'm going to lose money doing this, and I'm cracking up.

A tour/a mini-tour is one thing...but I'm talking for just a one off show. What's the farthest you've gone and how did you make it worth it in the long run? I play for a living, and I'm nervous about rent but excited to get silly with the guys I love like brothers. Give me advice on how to keep this annual show going! *gulp*

Attached Files:

2. dwlb

dwlb Tele-Holic

Fantastic! I will be heading from Chicago to Austin for a one-off show this September, so I still don't think I'll beat your record. Farthest I've gone previously was about 250 miles, but that was for (at the time) a pretty good-paying gig.

3. leftiecaster

leftiecaster Tele-Meister

90 miles

4. cowboytwang

cowboytwang Poster Extraordinaire

I did one set, at the Equiblues Festival in Saint-Agrève France, a couple of years ago. I don't know exactly how far that is from Vegas (6000 or so miles one way), but I was on 8 different planes, a few vans, 4 trams, a train, and a bus in 5 days.
    Is that far enough for one show?

5. brookdalebill

brookdalebill Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

My longest distance for a one off (New Years Eve) gig was 660 miles, one way.
    That's the distance from Prince George, BC to Iskut, BC.
    I did it on two consecutive years, 1994 and 1995.
    They were also my best paying gigs, so far.

6. tuuur

tuuur Friend of Leo's

We played kind of like a tour with our band, which fell apart due to venues canceling shows. In the end there were 3 shows left of the original 11.