What's the deal with Esquire's?

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by JCzuR98, Sep 5, 2015.

1. JCzuR98

JCzuR98 TDPRI Member

Hey guys, I'm new to Tele's (in fact, guitars in general) and don't want to come off as ignorant, but what's the deal with Esquire's? You might never use the neck pickup, but it's nice to have it their in case you used it, right? Instead of 3 different sounds that can come off your guitar (neck, neck+bridge, bridge) You only have one. Is it a price thing? Maybe you enjoy the look of them? Any insight and reasons would be appreciated.

P.S: Don't want to offend anyone with this post.

2. Factotum

Factotum TDPRI Member

+1. Also looking for some insight into this. I'm guessing it's a nostalgia/mojo thing and has little to do with the technical capabilities. But I could be wrong.

3. JD0x0

JD0x0 Poster Extraordinaire

You still get 3 sounds with the esquire.
    1. Cap to make the sound less trebly, more bassy
    2. 'Normal' tele bridge
    3. Bypassed tone control

of course, you dont have to wire it like that. You could use a 'no load' tone for example, and then make the 3rd position a passive bass cut, for a different tone. Since the pot will already be bypassed on '10' in all positions, when using a 'no load' tone.

You could also add more cap options to change the resonant frequency of the pickup and move the resonant frequency down, closer to that of a P-90 or a humbucker. The stock cap, in the front position usually has a lot of high end cut, and creates a dark sound

Then there's the fact that an esquire may have a tapped single coil, or even some sort of humbucker, which opens up more wiring options and tones.

Not having a neck pickup means not having magnetic pull there. Due to the neck pickup's placement, magnets have a greater effect on string dampening in this position, compared to a bridge pickup. Less magnetic pull means better potential intonation, and a longer natural sustain, from the strings.