What would you fix about the Blues Junior Enclosure/Cab

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Okieactor, Feb 14, 2020.

1. Okieactor

Okieactor Tele-Holic

I'm considering doing a rehouse of my Blues Junior. I have 2 other separate amp heads and a 2X12 cab, so I'd like to leave the Blues Jr. as a combo. But what would you change, if you were to build a new enclosure? My main thing is that the rattle and "boxiness" of it. Seems to me like it's kind of a lot of amp for the size of its enclosure.

My considerations:
    • Would it sound better in a bigger box?
    • Keep it open back, yeah?
    • Floating baffle?
    • Definitely better wood
    • To tolex, or to let the wood show. (Fingerjoints?)

Your thoughts? Anyone successfully improved the FBJ with a rehouse? (If so, pics are great.)

2. Dennyf

Dennyf Tele-Afflicted

I don't have one (I'm a Pro Jr guy), but despite part of the appeal being the compact size, I think the sound could benefit from a larger cabinet and baffle.

Bruxist likes this.
  3. Whatizitman

Whatizitman Friend of Leo's

Last edited: Feb 14, 2020
    old soul likes this.
  4. Alamo

Alamo Doctor of Teleocity

A tweed deluxe size cab out of pine should work fine.
    at least it did for my 5f1 clone.

8-DSCN1963.JPG
    :D

Treehouse likes this.
  5. schmee

schmee Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

It seems to me the cab size is not bad. It's about the size of a 5E3 already right? But you could go a few inches wider.
    -Pine would be good for weight,
    -floating baffle 1/2 or 5/8 thick. 5/8 better.
    -Too deep is where "boxy/hi fi" comes from, but that amp needs some low end help so probably go to 10-10.5 deep. No more..
    -Tolex or tweed it, wood amps get scratched way too easy.

6. ReverendRevolver

ReverendRevolver Tele-Afflicted

Finger jointed pine.

Good 12" speaker.

Most important:

Make it look like a Peavey SS amp, so you can leave it wherever and nobody steals it ;)

Treehouse and old soul like this.