What will you be doing musically when you're retired?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Califiddler, Oct 22, 2012.

1. Califiddler

Califiddler Friend of Leo's

I'm 51 and hoping to retire when I'm about 66 or 67.

For the last 7 years I have been playing in a classic rock band, and for the last 3 I have also been playing in a country band. In the rock band I play electric guitar, keys and harmonica, and in the country band I play electric guitar and fiddle. I sing, too. Because of these bands, I have been playing more electric guitar than anything else for the last 7 years.

I really don't see myself playing in electric bands with drums, playing in bars until 1:00 a.m., etc. when I'm retired. I expect that I will move away from the electric stuff, sell off most of my electric gear, and move back to mostly acoustic stuff. Probably play a lot of acoustic guitar, fiddle and mandolin, go to bluegrass jams and bluegrass festivals, etc.

I also see myself playing alone a lot more, so I think that I will be playing a lot of clawhammer banjo. I already play more of that than anything else when I am playing by myself at home. Something about that style, those tunes, those "ancient tones" really relaxes and centers me, gets the blood pressure down, etc. Clawhammer banjo could be the main instrument and style of my retirement years.

For those of you looking forward to retirement, what do you think that you'll be doing, musically? And for those of you who are already retired, what are you doing, musically?

2. blowtorch

blowtorch Telefied Ad Free Member

Probably playing bagpipes

3. RevMike

RevMike Poster Extraordinaire

As long as I can stand up, and play a guitar, I would like to keep gigging. Easy for me to say now, I'm only 44. But I've played plenty of late night with guys in their 60's that could send guys half their age back to school.

4. jazztele

jazztele Poster Extraordinaire