What to build with a broken JCM2000 DSL100

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by nasdak, Jan 20, 2019.

  1. nasdak

    nasdak Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Location:
    france
    Hello folks
    currently have a JCM2000 DSL100 on the bench, it has the faulty main pcb, everything becomes conductive, there's no way to save it appart fitting a new board, not worth the expense i think.
    I wonder if someone already used one for a new build ? Are the trannys ok for say a 1959 or a 2203 ?
     
  2. clintj

    clintj Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,945
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Location:
    Idaho
    What's the HT winding like on those, like 700V aka 350V each half? Probably net something approaching 500V of B+?

    Yeah, that set should be a fair match for a later 2203 (the earlier ones and JMPs ran lower IIRC). Question is what to do with any extra holes in the chassis, but a custom set of faceplates should help with that.

    Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
     
    dunner84 likes this.
  3. dunner84

    dunner84 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    311
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Location:
    Victoria, bc
    +1 for 2203 and a new faceplate.
     
  4. Dacious

    Dacious Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,763
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Location:
    Godzone
    The boards were available as a warranty replacement, even out of original 1 year purchase warranty. Marshall acknowledged there was an ongoing issue with DSL and some TSL models due to the material used becoming conductive.

    It might be worth contacting them and asking - they may honour it and replace the part
     
  5. nasdak

    nasdak Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Location:
    france
    I contacted them with no luck :(
    Well, it's gonna be a base for a 2204 jcm800.
    50w so i need a new OT!

    Envoyé de mon Redmi 4X en utilisant Tapatalk
     
  6. Lynxtrap

    Lynxtrap Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    736
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Location:
    EU
    Why not just keep the output stage as it is and change the rest of the circuit to 2204 and save the cost of an OT? Even if you would want to run it at full output volume, the difference between 50W and 100W isn't enormous. Both are enough to blow your ears out.
     
    jtcnj likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.