1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

What strat pickup positions do you need/wish you had?

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by AJBaker, Nov 7, 2020.

  1. JRapp

    JRapp Tele-Holic

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    552
    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I use them all for when they are necessary. Added a blender pot after mulling it over for 20 years and it's a worthwhile addition---but it doesn't sound like a Tele middle position. I gave up trying to get one guitar to do it all a long time ago---if I want a fatter sound, strap on a Gibson.
     
    SRHmusic likes this.
  2. gimmeatele

    gimmeatele Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    61
    Posts:
    1,022
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Location:
    Alora Spain
    I have a American special strat and while I do like the text special pickups, I dont like the middle position with no tone control. I guess it maybe easy to wire up but I dont wish to meddle. Lovely guitar otherwise
     
  3. beagle

    beagle Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    61
    Posts:
    4,463
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    They never did, but the Fender website had the wrong switch/tone circuit detail for over five years. There's a thread about it somewhere here.

    I have a 2006, one of the first. A friend has a 2016, one of the last, the switching is the same.
     
    Flaneur likes this.
  4. Cyberi4n

    Cyberi4n Tele-Meister

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2020
    Location:
    Chester, Uk
    Neck for me all the way on the strat. Whilst i like the middle position sound a la Knopfler etc I have no use for it in the music I play, or rather the way I want to sound. I hate the sound of my bridge pup (Seymour SSL6) so I rarely use it. Have been looking at a blender wiring harness recently as I'm interested in that sort of sound, but it depends if I actually get it or not. TBH I'm playing my telecaster more now anyway... that has Toneriders in it, sounds just how I want a guitar to sound.

    For reference, my strat has SSL2's in the neck and Middle, and an SSL6 in the bridge, and a wiring harness with the treble bleed mod fitted.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2020
  5. AndrewG

    AndrewG Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    68
    Posts:
    2,393
    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Exeter, England
    On one of the MIM Jaguars with humbuckers (I forget which), the two roller controls act as blenders for the humbucker coils so you can add or subtract as much hum/single as you want within that pickup.
    Edit: here:
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2020
  6. AJBaker

    AJBaker Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    3,865
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Here's one way you could do it:

    Second knob is master tone control, and third knob becomes a neck/bridge blender: when on the neck pickup, you can blend in the bridge pickup, and when on the bridge pickup you can blend in the neck pickup. This gives you n+b and all 3.

    Next, use the push-pull pot as a phase switch for either the bridge or neck pickup.


    Alternatively, if you buy a super switch, you could have:
    1. B
    2. B+N
    3. M
    4. B+N (oop)
    5. N

    Then use the third knob (or a push-pull) to activate the middle pickup.
     
    brookdalebill likes this.
  7. brookdalebill

    brookdalebill Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    89,072
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Thanks!
    I’ll discuss this with my friend Ben at South Austin Music.
     
  8. Blues Twanger

    Blues Twanger Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Location:
    NYC and VT
    I've never used 2 and 4, but I don't buy strats for how they sound, but how they look and feel.

    When one was my only guitar I added the ability for neck+bridge and used that plus neck or bridge alone all the time.

    Lately I've been enjoying the ability to have all three on at once.

    What I need is a superswitch schematic that trades the traditional 2 and 4 for those two option.
     
  9. Flaneur

    Flaneur Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,618
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Location:
    Scotland

    Can you also get the neck and middle together, if you fiddle with the switch? :)
     
  10. beagle

    beagle Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    61
    Posts:
    4,463
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    No, not on mine.
     
  11. blue metalflake

    blue metalflake Doctor of Teleocity

    Age:
    67
    Posts:
    12,540
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Location:
    ireland
    I use the middle, the bridge + middle & bridge.
     
  12. AJBaker

    AJBaker Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    3,865
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Interesting, I think you're the first person I've come across that uses a strat like that.

    Fascinating in this thread how many different ways people use a strat.
     
  13. That Cal Webway

    That Cal Webway Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    1,758
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    Minot
    On my Performer Strat,
    I use all 7 positions

    the trad 5 positions, plus:

    neck/ bridge
    All 3 pups

    .
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2020
  14. Big Twang Theory

    Big Twang Theory TDPRI Member Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Location:
    Arizona
    I'm more of a tele player, so I prefer the 3 way switch. So my strat has 3 way for neck, bridge and both neck and bridge. I added two push/ pulls. One adds the middle to whatever I have selected on the switch, and the other push/ pull adds the middle while disengaging the other two to give me just the middle. Master volume, tone for neck and bridge, and tone for middle.
     
    AAT65 likes this.
  15. codamedia

    codamedia Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,367
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Western Canada
    The only position I miss on a standard strat is the Bridge/Neck.
    For that I change the 1st tone to become a master tone, then use the extra tone as a blender pot. Voila!

    I thought I was the only one :).
    I don't do this on my Strat, but my tele is wired with this option available. It gets used many times in an evening.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2020
  16. Hounded Dog

    Hounded Dog TDPRI Member

    Age:
    51
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    I have a Musicmaster. Every time I look at it I start imagining a single-pickup (neck only) strat! I think it would be good looking. I'd use the lower control positions, deleting the one nearest the bridge. No switch. I might use a top loader hardtail bridge?
     
    srblue5 and Ron C like this.
  17. Terrygh1949

    Terrygh1949 Tele-Meister

    Age:
    71
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Location:
    Kansas
    All of them 5, no need for more. Bridge and, middle together is favorite.
     
  18. Jay Jernigan

    Jay Jernigan Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    805
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Location:
    10-uh-C
    I wish that you hadn't gotten me started on this. I'll try to get myself under control.
    I have a 2004 Strat with a 5-way and an S-1. Haven't popped the hood, but my understanding is that the 5-way is a super switch. Ten great tones, imho, and I use them all.
    On others I have a n/b blender. I get a good bit of mileage out of that.
    After playing a Telecaster for some years with a 4-way, I decided to build a Nashville type using a 4-way on the bridge and neck with the middle added by way of a push pull. Eight combinations; very versatile. No middle only, another push pull would fix that, but I don't miss it, really.
    The one that would like to knowingly try out is middle and bridge in series . I'm working on it.
     
  19. openbar

    openbar Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    796
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Location:
    Boston
    Tried both the blender setup or a little switch (Gilmour mod?) out of curiosity. They work but the bridge+neck is kind of anemic sounding, so I didn't keep it.

    Just the same, it seems someone would've engineered a 6 position switch after all these years.
     
  20. Jammin'John

    Jammin'John Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Tug Hill Plateau
    Neck & Bridge and all three in my G & L !

    JJ IMG_2608.JPG
     
    That Cal Webway likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.