what songs taught you the most?

ndcaster

Doctor of Teleocity
friends of mine want to work up some country/soul stuff, so I've been going back and learning, more closely, tunes I thought I knew, and this experience has made me think the following

when I started on guitar in 1980, my teacher wanted me to learn John Denver tunes without any explanation, and I rebelled -- all my friends were into Van Halen, and I wanted to play like Eddie, so I went the self-taught route

as a result, all the stuff I learned was pretty spotty -- I didn't have the patience for slowing records down, re-dropping the needle, and so on, and so for a year I was catch as catch can, in terms of learning the instrument, totally unsystematic learning, major territory of the fretboard was incognito, etc

then came moments, a succession of them, when it was clear I needed to get my sh*t together with actual songs -- and that led me right back to simple things, cowboy chords, learning to sing and play, playing with others

(as an aside, it makes me wonder about music history a little bit: in the 80s, the barriers to entry to playing popular rock music were pretty high, which probably made the younger generation go "eff this, let's play grunge" just as their older punk cousins did before them -- but I digress)

in retrospect, the whole world of sitting around banging out simple tunes is absolutely bedrock to musical learning, so my question is:

what tunes, in order, taught you the most when it comes to guitar?

for me, it started with Wild Thing, Sweet Home Alabama, Mony Mony, Free Bird, dozens of three-chord country songs, Autumn Leaves, A Child Is Born, Nuages ...

and this morning, as I looked more closely at Eagles tunes (Take It Easy, Peaceful Easy, Already Gone) that damn, I should've done a deep dive on these tunes a lot sooner -- the fills and solos are just so on point and clever, really good "learning" tunes ... doing so would've saved me some time