1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

What soldering iron are all the cool kids using these days?

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by Honga Man, Jun 9, 2014.

1. Honga Man

Honga Man Tele-Afflicted

I have an old soldering iron that I bought at Radio Shack for about $20 fifteen or twenty years ago. It still works but the tip is sort of melted into a fatter blob of metal than I'd like for delicate use - such as mini-toggles.

I've never owned a good one, but I think it's time as I have a few guitar projects to complete. I don't need "the best" as I'm just a hobbyist but I don't want the cheapest either...which I assume is what Radio Shack sells.

Thanks for any recommendations.

2. KokoTele

KokoTele Doctor of Teleocity Vendor Member

The Weller WLC100 is probably right up your alley. Variable heat control, though not digital. I use 2 of them, and keep a screwdriver style tip on one for grounds and a very fine tip on the other for tiny wires.

3. fabricator

fabricator Tele-Meister

I've bought cheaper irons in the past that would still be useable if I could find replacement tips.

I recently purchased a Weller iron because I know I'll always be able to find tips for it.

4. steam-powered

steam-powered Tele-Meister

Inexpensive and works just fine, setting the dial at max for wiring jobs.

5. AirBagTester

AirBagTester Friend of Leo's

I got this one too for my first soldering project ever. Worked phenomenally well, and I bought it based on various recommendations and Amazon reviews. I used it set around 3.5 to 4 for the Thunderdrive build, for tinning and soldering.

6. Progbusters

Progbusters Tele-Meister

the one with the blue handle at stewmac, its pretty good

7. Vizcaster

Vizcaster Poster Extraordinaire