What Pedal Board?

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by jklotz, May 5, 2018.

  1. jklotz

    jklotz Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    So I'm in the process of putting together another board. I want a slimed down, lightweight, "bare bones" board for some of the smaller shows and rehearsals. I've got a pretty good handle of what to put on it, the question is what to put it on. I've only used pedaltrain before. They seem to make good stuff. What other boards do you guys like?

    Also, what power supplies do you guys like that will fit a smaller board? I was looking at those one spot pro CS6, which are supposed to be low profile, so they can mount under smaller boards. Any other solutions I should be aware of?
     
  2. WetBandit

    WetBandit Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Location:
    Somewhere
    I'm a fan of both pedaltrain and the MXR DC Brick

    20180504_134350.jpg
     
  3. DaveKS

    DaveKS Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,712
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Location:
    KS
    Define smaller board? 3 pedals? 7?
     
  4. LooseJack

    LooseJack Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Location:
    transit lounge
    cioks PS fits under PT nano and mini
     
  5. bigben55

    bigben55 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,801
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    For a @5 pedal board, this is the BEST solution. Cioks DC5 and PT Nano+.
     
  6. blackjaw

    blackjaw Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    431
    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Location:
    RI
    I have a CS6 and it fits under a Nano+ and Metro 20...I swap it back and forth depending on the size of the board I am playing.

    CS6 is a great power supply and I actually like it better than the Cioks DC5 or Adam because of the two 500ma ports and the ability to do 12/18v on every port (great for running a compressor at 18v)
     
    LAGinz likes this.
  7. jklotz

    jklotz Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I'm going to be running a Helix HX (The effects only Helix) with an expression pedal, and I'd like a little extra room for experimenting with other pedals in the loop. But at the same time I'd like to keep it compact and light. The HX pulls close to 1000 ma, and the one spot guys have a video showing how the CS6 will power it, so I am most likely going that route. (Otherwise, I'm stuck with a power cable that has the big block in the middle, which kind of messes up the whole clean and compact part of the equation.)
     
  8. Beachbum

    Beachbum Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,324
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Sand Land
    I put this one together using an SKB board and a case from Rondo. I ran the wires under the board and screwed the board to the case from the bottom. Everything fit perfectly with just enough room for eight pedals and the power strip. The top is removable.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  9. DaveKS

    DaveKS Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,712
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Location:
    KS
    With the 8x11 footprint of HX+exp+Extra pedals the pedaltrain metro 24 is only one that makes sense to me. Being as HX already has angled front plate and also the exp pedal I wouldn't want a angled board.
     
  10. Kayle McGuire

    Kayle McGuire Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Location:
    Canada
    I’d recommend a Pedaltrain Nano+ or Metro of some kind. If you like it flat. If you want it elevated, try a Pedaltrain Classic Jr. or Classic 1.
     
  11. LooseJack

    LooseJack Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Location:
    transit lounge
    Dang, the CS6 looks great. How long has that been out for?

    It's not 12/18 on every port though is it? It looks like:
    2x9
    2x9/12
    2x9/18
     
    blackjaw likes this.
  12. blackjaw

    blackjaw Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    431
    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Location:
    RI
    You are correct, the two 500ma plugs do not have a voltage option and are standard 9v only.
     
  13. jklotz

    jklotz Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Yea, I went with that. Ordered yesterday. This, in my case, is what sold me:

     
  14. uriah1

    uriah1 Telefied Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    21,475
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Around
    Small I like my BCB60.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.