What looper has the best tone?

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by Blackbird86, Oct 15, 2019.

  1. Blackbird86

    Blackbird86 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Location:
    Indiana
    Currently using a 8ish year old digitech jamman, but i notice my guitars sound better plugged directly into the amp than through my jamman then into that same amp. What looper has the best tone?
     
  2. bftfender

    bftfender Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,265
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Location:
    York PA
    have a lil Ditto..spits out what ya put into it
     
    MrCairo46, joealso, Erdowonge and 2 others like this.
  3. Ripradiant

    Ripradiant Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    The one with the best player in front of it!
     
    MrCairo46 and brookdalebill like this.
  4. BigDaddyLH

    BigDaddyLH Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    50,356
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC, Canuckistan
    That explains why mine sucks :(
     
  5. jddub440

    jddub440 Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    799
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2015
    Location:
    Tacoma
    I bet those new Chase Bliss Audio loopers sound pretty sweet....the Mood and the Blooper.
     
    El Tele Lobo likes this.
  6. Obsessed

    Obsessed Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    21,593
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Location:
    Montana
    Looping is a many splendered thing, but for best results there are a few rules to adhere to.

    First off, you need to loop into a crystal clean amp, because you are layering over each loop. If you add your dirt before the looper, only that loop will have the dirt. Otherwise everything gets progressively dirtier.

    Also, your amp typically plays one guitar, but after you start looping, your amp is playing multiple guitars.

    I could go on, but wonder if these are issues for you to consider.
     
    sirbergersworth likes this.
  7. Verne Bunsen

    Verne Bunsen Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,118
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Location:
    Sonoran Desert
    My Boomerang III doesn’t exhibit any noticeable tone degradation.
     
    Texicaster and FenderLover like this.
  8. schmee

    schmee Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,489
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    northwest
    My Ditto's don't seem to change the tone a bit.

    But I think you need find a Blackface one with roasted maple and RCA Blackplates!:eek:
     
    Erdowonge and Wildcard_35 like this.
  9. brookdalebill

    brookdalebill Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

    Age:
    62
    Posts:
    65,740
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    I’m happy with my EH Canyon.
     
  10. Ripradiant

    Ripradiant Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    But, IMHO it's the tool that really helps!
     
  11. Lies&Distortion

    Lies&Distortion Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    977
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    My sample size of one tells me the Boomerang III has good tone for my ears using my guitar, amp and pedals.

    I expect you will have similar answers from users of other loopers. Lots of variables.
     
    Texicaster likes this.
  12. beninma

    beninma Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    2,491
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I’d just check if you have a true bypass tone suck situation. If you’re used to plugging straight into the amp you might be noticing some attenuation of higher frequencies due to more cable plus the pedal when it’s not in use.

    If the pedal is currently playing a loop this is not a factor.
     
  13. Texicaster

    Texicaster Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    744
    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Location:
    Arizona
    Another for Boomerang III

    Records in 48KHz or 24KHz, both use 20 bit samples; through signal is always 48KHz / 24 bits.
     
  14. jimash

    jimash Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,662
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Location:
    NJ
    I have a Boss RC50, and my experience is it likes to be hooked up to a mixer better than an amp.
     
  15. joealso

    joealso Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    700
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Location:
    East Haddam, CT
    Ditto on the Ditto
     
  16. j5jarod777

    j5jarod777 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    marysville
    Can't go wrong with a Ditto
     
  17. LowCaster

    LowCaster Tele-Holic

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    709
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Paris, France
    I think the OP is talking about the buffer/bypass, not about the tone of the loop.

    The Boss RC3 is on my pedal board, very good too, but as in any boss pedal there is a buffer that is sucking just a little bit of tone even when not in use (IMHO/YMMV... some people want buffers in their pedalboard for a reason). Having more than one or two pedals on the pedalboard, even if they are true bypass, does the same thing, because of the added cable length and connection.

    I believe that any looper would have a buffer, maybe there is one that is really true bypass?

    Anyway, that’s not something you can really hear, it’s something that you feel when you plug back straight to the amp, and when you are playing alone in your basement. If you can hear that in any band playing situation, then there is a problem.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.