What has happened to my tele?!?!

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by johmica, Jan 8, 2012.

  1. johmica

    johmica Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Berea, KY
    I was playing my tele custom this morning, and everything was fine. Played for a couple of hours, and then hung the guitar on my wall and left it for a few hours. Came back, and now, all of a sudden, my bridge pickup is acting all funky.

    I get normal volume up until around 7 or so, and then from 8 to 10, the volume decreases until it's completely silent at 10. I've never had this problem before. What is going on?

    Edit: I just noticed that the neck volume pot is controlling the bridge volume, even when the pickup selector is on bridge only. Did something just ground out on my three way switch?
     
  2. boneyguy

    boneyguy Doctor of Teleocity

    Age:
    62
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    victoria b.c. CANADA
    That would be my first guess.
     
  3. johmica

    johmica Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Berea, KY
    Just opened her up. There doesn't seem to be any grounding issue, and the pickup itself is still reading 5.9 ohms (or micro-ohms, or whatever they are). The point is, the pickup still has output, but only when removed from the pot. I checked the neck pickup with solder joints intact, and it reads fine. But the neck pickup only reads output when removed from the pot. Bad pot? Still a chance it's a grounding issue? Any thoughts? I'll probably just take it to my guitar tech in the morning. He just re-wired it about three months ago. Maybe I can get some kind of "warrantied" repair done . . .
     
  4. sjtalon

    sjtalon Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    10,659
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    Upper Peninsula of Michigan
    Spray the pot out with contact cleaner and spin the knob around a bunch in the process.

    May be just some funky crap in there. Do 'em both.
     
  5. megafiddle

    megafiddle Former Member

    Posts:
    610
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    VA
    What pots do you have on there, function-wise?
     
  6. johmica

    johmica Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Berea, KY
    Not sure I understand the question, but I've got two volume and two tone pots. All 1 meg CTS pots. Like I said, everything has worked fine for months now, and I was playing it this morning without problem. Set it down, turned off the amp, and came back later to no volume on the bridge pickup. When I set it on 5, I get about a third of the volume I should have on 5, and that's all I get. It's downhill from there. And I can kill the volume on the bridge pickup completely by turning the neck volume knob to zero with the selector in the bridge position. I'm puzzled, for sure.
     
  7. rolling56

    rolling56 Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    3,023
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Location:
    Mangling notes since '81 in SW Misery
    Since you have a VOM fix it yourself ;) Your tech will just make more $ off of you.
     
  8. johmica

    johmica Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Berea, KY
    Unfortunately, I wouldn't know where to begin. I'm a plumber, and I've got a multimeter for water heaters and such. I can understand in theory how one would try to isolate individual steps in the circuit to locate the problem, but practically, I could spend days trying to figure out how to do it.
     
  9. sjtalon

    sjtalon Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    10,659
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    Upper Peninsula of Michigan
    want days or minuets ? it's worth a try:

    [​IMG]
     
  10. johmica

    johmica Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Berea, KY
    I'll try it, for sure. To quote the general in "Wargames," I'd piss on a spark plug if I thought it'd do any good.
     
  11. sjtalon

    sjtalon Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    10,659
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    Upper Peninsula of Michigan
    BWAAAAA
     
  12. sv9cannon

    sv9cannon TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    You sure you're turning the knobs the right way..?
     
  13. TC6969

    TC6969 Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    67
    Posts:
    2,982
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Wimauma Florida
    I don't think dancing is going to help this situation.
     
  14. dog fart

    dog fart Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,895
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Sounds like a faulty volume pot. I'd start with the cleaner. If that doesn't work replace the pot. I'd be very suprised if the cleaner doesn't do the trick
     
  15. sjtalon

    sjtalon Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    10,659
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    Upper Peninsula of Michigan

    Oooops ! dang Firefox spell check let me down again :eek:
     
  16. johmica

    johmica Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Location:
    Berea, KY
    The cleaner had no effect. The frustrating thing is that the pot is barely three months old. I can only assume that the pot is the culprit, however. Taking it to my guitar tech in the morning.
     
  17. daniel o

    daniel o Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Location:
    manitoba
    what was the outcome of the visit to the guitar guy? issue corrected?
     
  18. Geo

    Geo Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    70
    Posts:
    4,792
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hendersonville, TN
    I'll guess a couple wires have come in contact or just one is grounding
    against a pot lug.
     
  19. lostpick

    lostpick Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,693
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Staten Island, NYC
    there is probably a way to jumper the pot and

    get into no-load mode...

    if it comes back strong and bright...its the pot
     
  20. Geo

    Geo Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    70
    Posts:
    4,792
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hendersonville, TN
    If it isn't the pot could be a capacitor leg has toched a wrong spot on the pot.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.