What do you record yourself with?

Discussion in 'Recording In Progress' started by Leland105, May 27, 2010.

  1. Leland105

    Leland105 Tele-Meister

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Location:
    MO USA
    So I have an older tascam digital 4 track that I record myself with. I am thinking about getting a program for my laptop to record instead. Any suggestions?
     
  2. 10Alex10

    10Alex10 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Location:
    Newcastle-ish, UK
    I rarely record myself, but if I do, I'll usually plug my guitar straight into the Audio-in on my iMac, then record into GarageBand.
    If not, I'll (ashamedly) use the microphone I got for singing with when I bought Guitar Hero: World Tour. The computer picks it up as a Logitech, and it works, so I'll use that.

    I'm not planning on upgrading any of my kit soon, either.:lol:
     
  3. octatonic

    octatonic Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,592
    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Location:
    An Australian in Singapore.
    I have a recording studio based around a Mac with Apogee Symphony.
    Software is Logic.
     
  4. Leland105

    Leland105 Tele-Meister

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Location:
    MO USA
    Cool. I don't have a mac I have a pc are there any good programs for that.
     
  5. '56Teleman

    '56Teleman Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    1,912
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Lindenhurst, IL
    I bought a Tascam 4 track in Aug. '07 and still have no clue how it works. I tried a couple times, got nowhere and now it collects dust.
     
  6. mudbean

    mudbean Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,757
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal Semi-Desert Semi-Paradise
    Many - check out the recording forum, several discussions going right now.

    Edit: You'll need an interface (to get sound in and out of your PC) ... M-Audio has good & inexpensive stuff, I believe also bundled with a light version of ProTools.

    mud
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2010
  7. Telesavalis

    Telesavalis Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,733
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Location:
    Deep in the Heart O Texas
    Pro Tools HD-Control 24 mixer-variety of mics, processors & wizbangdevices.
     
  8. Strat62

    Strat62 Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    69
    Posts:
    3,546
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Location:
    Cambridge Vt.
    I have an Echo Audiofire2 interface that I plug my amp's emulated line out into for guitar; from there it goes into my HPa6500f PC via firewire. I have Tracktion2 software that came with the interface. Works great, it's a virtual recording studio in my computer. I plug my mic's and keyboard directly into it.
     
  9. Tdub

    Tdub Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,941
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
    Protools.
     
  10. Ted M

    Ted M Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,309
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    I have a Roland VS-1880 at home that I use for demos, working on sounds, and fooling around. I always mic up an amp, usually an SM57 on a 5E3 clone or a Princeton Reverb.

    I know several guys who are good with Protools, so I work with them on band projects.
     
  11. tboy

    tboy Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,370
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    Digi Performer
     
  12. crowden

    crowden Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    531
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Location:
    St. Petersburg, FL
    I use this. You can download it and try it out - no registration, no nothin'. The download is the full working program without limitations. The only difference in registering is a nag screen on program load and "unregistered" in the title will disappear.

    You may not like it but you have nothing to lose in trying it out. The forums are full of extremely helpful people - just like here.
     
  13. magicguitar

    magicguitar Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

    Age:
    72
    Posts:
    1,541
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Location:
    Fallon, Nevada
    A GNX4 and ProTools.
     
  14. Old Cane

    Old Cane Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,835
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    Reaper is great. But most of the smaller interfaces you buy come with a "lite" version of some sort of DAW. I chose Presonus because it came with Cubase. I like Cubase. I bought the full blown version a couple of months later.

    There are a ton out there either free or almost free.
     
  15. Bikersluggo

    Bikersluggo Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    834
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    I have a program called Cakewalk on my PC. Guitar (or whatever) to POD XT to PC.
     
  16. Togman

    Togman Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

    Age:
    60
    Posts:
    1,379
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    I have been using a BOSS BR600 since January. Really loving it.
     
  17. spotface

    spotface Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    Near the Atlantic
    Cubase has the lowest system requirements, and it runs PC/Mac. I use it on my Mac Pro at home, then for remote, use my PC laptop. Cubase requires the dongle to operate. I have the Prosonus Firebox, use an AKG 414. Track my songs at home, export them as .wav files, then take them to a studio for adding a live drummer, mixing and mastering. My last song cost me (not including my investment in home equipment) about $175. That included a live drummer, fiddle tracks from a fellow on the internet, (www.fiddletrax.com), and mixing. Sounds really good, and I can afford it....
     
  18. 64Strat

    64Strat Friend of Leo's Vendor Member

    Posts:
    4,756
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    purpose built DAW PC running Sonar 8.5 with an RME FireFace 800.
     
  19. telleutelleme

    telleutelleme Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    19,044
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Location:
    Houston
    Alesis Multimix 12 via firewire into a purpose built PC. Software is usually Audacity and sometimes Sonar XL. I have various directs into the mixer from amp(s) and/or mics. It's great for home recording. I use KRK monitors or headphones out of the Alesis.

    _______________
    tutm has started taking Ritalin to enhance his brain power. - TGFM
     
  20. KCKC

    KCKC Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,652
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    Hingham, MA
    kristal, DAW, 16 track, accepts vst's, very intuitive and it's free!
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.