What do you pros do?

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by HotRodSteve, Aug 17, 2019.

1. HotRodSteve

HotRodSteve Friend of Leo's

Just out of curiosity since I'm an amateur guitarist and my bedroom amp just had a tube problem, what do you pros do when your gig tube amp craps out?

Greggorios likes this.
  2. Dismalhead

Dismalhead Poster Extraordinaire

Not a pro, but when I was gigging I always brought my little Fender Super Champ as a spare, figuring I could mic it in a pinch. Never had to use it, but it gave me peace of mind. It wasn't just for me; I figured it would work for other guitarists in the band too.

Skydog1010 and Greggorios like this.
  3. Mike Simpson

Mike Simpson Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

I always have a spare amp so if any of the guitar or harp amps go down I have a spare. We have only had to use it a few times in over 500 gigs. The Bass would have to run through the PA if it goes down.

Last edited: Aug 17, 2019
  4. dogmeat

dogmeat Tele-Afflicted

spare amp. don't leave home without it

5. Steve 78

Steve 78 Friend of Leo's

Not a pro but played once or twice a month for 15 years. I think I had amp problems 1 or 2 times. I borrowed an amp off one of the other bands. If I was a pro I'd have a backup amp.

2 Headed Goat likes this.
  6. gtroates

gtroates Tele-Meister

These days many guitarists bring Pods or Tech21 flyrig type units that can go direct into the house sound system or your band’s own pa if you are playing self contained. If you are a local pro flying to gigs you don’t often fly your personal amp too, it gets expensive. You depend on the venue to have amps available or call ahead and rent one in the town you are going to. If your direct into pa sound is better than the amps they provide you can use it instead and save the headache of using an amp you don’t trust to get your sound out of.

Rich724 and Dismalhead like this.
  7. King Creole

King Creole Friend of Leo's