What causes a loss of clean headroom

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by 57fenderstrat, Oct 16, 2019.

1. 57fenderstrat

57fenderstrat Tele-Meister

hey folks,

I’m still pretty new to tube amps. What are normal causes of your clean headroom lowering?

My tweed deluxe headroom seems to be different latly, before I could almost never get any kind of breakup in my apartment. I had to have the volume at at least three and my guitar volume all the way up before it would get close. I’m noticing now it’s getting some light breakup whenever my guitar volume is full, even if the amp is on 2 or lower It sounds really good though but I’m just wondering what could have happened for me to seemingly lose some of my headroom. The tubes are still newish, I changed them maybe a month or so ago.

I was running it cranked for a good while the other day so maybe a punished the power tubes too hard ? Maybe the speaker ?

I’m not nessarily trying to get my old clean headroom back because right now it sounds good but I’m just wondering what happened.

Could I have pushed the speaker too hard the other day or do you think it’s more tube related?

Right now it has RCA 5y3 , RCA blackplate 6V6 , new gold lion 12ax7, and some old GE 12ay7.

I know this could be a number of things but I was wondering if there were any common causes of this just so I could understand more about it.

I have a few different sets of new tubes from tubedepot and KCA on hand but I don’t really want to start pulling and trying things if I don’t have to.

2. twangjeff

twangjeff Tele-Afflicted

Have you changed the volume on the channel that you aren't using?

57fenderstrat likes this.
  3. Dacious

Dacious Poster Extraordinaire

The volume controls are interactive - even with nothing plugged in the the other channel. Playing with the two controls changes the preamp gain, and breakup point.

Plus - Tweeds like Matshalls tend to have a little 'hair' whatever the volume. You're probably just noticing it.