1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

What are vintage specs for a Jaguar pickup?

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by Golem, Apr 22, 2021.

1. Golem

Golem Tele-Holic

I'm new to the world of Jaguar pickups and after buying an American Professional, which I know doesn't have vintage spec pickups, I got curious as to what vintage specs should be? The V-Mod pickups sound great. My guess is they might be using a thinner wire to get more turns and of course that makes me wonder whether vintage Jaguar pickups were using 42 or 43 AWG. It definitely looks like there's a range where most of the aftermarket offerings sit.

2. Steve Holt

Steve Holt Friend of Leo's

I did a lot of research on this subject not too long ago.

The big findings were for early jag pickups, like 62s, you had flat pole pieces with 42 awg wire.

The biggest difference between Strat and jag pickups is the coil height is slightly taller. I couldn't find much on wind number, but when I do get a chance to wind mine I'm going to shoot for 8000ish winds and see what kind of resistance I get. And then of course the jag pickups get the claw.

Golem likes this.
  3. Golem

Golem Tele-Holic

You wind your own pickups? Do you use kits from Mojo Tone, Stew Mac, etc? When I was looking out of curiosity the other day it seemed they don't offer a Jaguar kit.

4. sjtalon

sjtalon Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

Fender® American Vintage '62 Jaguar
    Pickups: 2 Special Design American Vintage Jaguar Single- Coil Pickups (Neck & Bridge)

Fender reissued the 1962 version of the Jaguar in 1999 as part of its American Vintage Series

per Fender:

Neck pickup:
    DC Resistance: 6.7-7.2k
    Magnet Type: Alnico 2 BEV

Bridge pickup:
    DC Resistance: 6.7 – 7.2k
    Magnet Type: Alnico 2 BEV

5. Steve Holt

Steve Holt Friend of Leo's