1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

What 5 (or any number) pedals would you deem as essential?

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by Digiplay, Apr 13, 2021.

1. Digiplay

Digiplay Tele-Afflicted

This Thread is an offshoot of my previous Thread regarding "Which of these two for my first Combo Amp?", the two being a Fender Tone Master Twin Reverb or a Katana Artist MKII.

It dawned on me that it's not really a true "apples versus apples" competition, as the Katana is a modeler amp with a ton of built in effects, where the Twin doesn't have any digital effects.

As part of my wildly acclaimed "Rules" on that Thread, here they are:
    1) I have been playing guitar now for about 2 years.
    2) This will be my first combo amp (I've been playing clean sounds through my Studio Monitors).
    3) It will for recording only, in my home studio, and no playing live.
    4) It will be for my original songs (Pop/R&B/Funk/New Country/Contemporary Jazz).
    5) I had thought of going with a pedal board, but perhaps it wouldn't be needed depending on which amp I go with.
    6) I just want a good amp to get me started, and I'm sure that once I get use to either selection, there will ALWAYS be another one to buy as my skills slowly advance :)

So..............................................................................................................................................

should I decide to go with a pedal board/the Fender, what are your recommendations as to what 5 pedals would you deem as essential to allow the Fender to give the Katana a run for it money, being aware of my specific needs?

Also note, the number of pedals is not set in stone, and if you think for the time being that 3 or 4 will suffice, please chime in on that! :)

Scott79, Supereditor and Festofish like this.