1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

were are my wood experts??

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by funkymann1, Aug 8, 2014.

1. funkymann1

funkymann1 Tele-Holic

I need wood experts….I have been making saw dust for 2 years now& I bought 2 basswood 1 piece blanks on eBay about 10 months ago…I used one when I first bought it & this happened…the post tilted & moved the wood…although the same template was used on alder & ash & it didn’t happen I blamed myself thinking maybe the post was drilled too close….after that I bought a basswood blank online at Kiem lumber & used the same bridge with no issues….GREAT RIGHT?...I used the second blank from the purchase 10 months ago & after 2 weeks of the guitar settling this crap happened again…..so my question is …is there a species out there that is kind of like basswood but softer?...I got to say…although it was 1 ¾ thick it smelled a lot like MDF when I was cutting it….
    I’m NOT LOOKING FOR A FIX…I just want to know if anyone can think of what this wood can be other than basswood?...there is no way for this too be normal considering all the 80s shred guitars had Floyds & were basswood….
    This really sucks…the guitar is to pretty to deal with a dowel & refin…I’d rather start fresh & make another….only thing is im out of this yellow urethane & threw the can away…now I gotta bring the headstock or body in & get a color match,….

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Telefied Ad Free Member