Warranty issue

Discussion in 'Squier Tele Forum' started by alex1fly, Sep 27, 2021.

1. alex1fly

alex1fly Tele-Meister

Hi all, hoping for some perspective. I've been playing guitar and other instruments for 20 years. Picked up a new Squier CV Thinline Telecaster in August 2021 in my hometown in OK, and brought it home to Colorado. The truss rod maxed out before it straightened the neck, so I took it to the local Fender authorized dealer for assessment 2-3 weeks after purchasing it. They couldn't get it to straighten out, either, and said it was visibly bowed even without strings on. They said they'd talk to Fender about a warranty claim so I sent them my receipt. Here we are 6 weeks later and it seems like Fender is not going to do anything about it.

I've never had this issue before. It plays great, intonated fine, sounds awesome, but it sure seems to me - and to the shop - that there's a QC issue with this neck. It should straighten out, and I shouldn't be dealing with a bowed neck when I go above .09s. To replace and fit the neck in kind will cost dang near what I paid for the guitar. Should I take it to another authorized dealer to try again? Contact Fender directly? Just play it until there's a bigger problem?

2. beanluc

beanluc Tele-Afflicted

Based on what, exactly? Did Fender say this to your authorized dealer who said they'd handle it for you?

I'm asking because it sort of sounds like it's the dealer who's dragging their feet.

Last edited: Sep 27, 2021
    KATT likes this.
  3. rstaaf

rstaaf Tele-Afflicted Ad Free Member

I would probably start with Fender. Explain the situation to them.
    Give them the serial number and see if there have been any warranty claims on it.
    Sounds to me like you just need to find a new Fender service center.

Here is Fender's Authorized Dealer Locater...

Authorized Dealer Locator | Fender

4. Boreas

Boreas Poster Extraordinaire