Warmouth Mary Kay White over different woods?

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by Si G X, Jan 28, 2020.

1. Si G X

Si G X Tele-Meister

I'm looking at getting a body from warmouth in their Mary Kay transparent white finish, I'm presuming swamp ash gives the familiar grain patterns and the 'whitest' look, but I was wondering if anyone had experience of this colour over different woods ... maybe a roasted ash body or even something totally different like mahogany, korina, alder?

I guess what I'm wondering is how transparent it actually is and what a wood with a less dramatic grain and a darker colour to swap ash would look like?

Thanks in advance.

2. fenderchamp

fenderchamp Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

why don't you email warmoth and ask them for a few pictures?

3. Si G X

Si G X Tele-Meister

That's a good idea, I've never used them before (as you can probably tell by the fact I called them warmouth) so wasn't sure how responsive they were to random questions. I'll give it a try. :)

4. paulbaribeau

paulbaribeau Tele-Meister

I’ve asked Warmoth some pretty weird questions and they have always been nice about it.

brookdalebill and Si G X like this.
  5. paulbaribeau

paulbaribeau Tele-Meister

If they send pictures please post them. I’m curious too.

6. Si G X

Si G X Tele-Meister

Sure, no problem... I've just sent them an email and said "if you have pictures that would be great" so fingers crossed.

I love how mahogany looks under transparent red, but I have no idea if you'd even see the grain through white.

7. rolandson

rolandson Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

Warmoth's website provides imaging services. Start with their 'Custom Build' section and take it from there.

ETA:
    This, by the way, is a Warmoth ash body done in Mary Kaye.
    365_kindlephoto-29483500.jpg

ndcaster, brookdalebill and Si G X like this.
  8. Si G X

Si G X Tele-Meister